Name: distel reviewed Chapter 5 on Jul 06, 2007 02:41 am
*claps enthusiasticaly* Oh my ... BRILLIANT! I have to say a lot of what you wrote and what you believe in were things that loomed in my mind for years but that I never was able to put to words. Now they seem a bit more shaped and generaly more real for me. I have to say, my approach of the H/G topic was, before HBP always this one: "I believe in R/Hr with all my heart and have to say that H/G becoming a couple does seem logic in many ways. My head, you could say, is a H/G shipper were as my heart is not. At all. If anyone can convince me it has to Mrs. Rowling herself." As it turned out, she didn't. Really. All the "beast in Harrys chest" nonsense just didn't fit and so, by the end of HBP it was clear as a christalball for me that H/G have no satisfying future ahead of them. Sure, the whole OBHWF theory has it's appeals but ... not enough. I have to say, I discovered D/G as a couple only after HBP. Don't ask me why. It certainly wasn't because I only went with the conventional way (my dirty secret used to Draco/Hermione :O) but after the changes Ginny went through in the last two books came to my mind I have to say, her character fit's to Draco wonderfully. She is fiery, (com)passionate, full of live and oh so forbiden for the blond guy. So when he finally kisses the Dark Arts goodbye (which I am positiv he will) he needs some new "Dark Side" to be attracted to, right? Well, this is far fetched but just one of the many things to add to the "D/G fit together" list.

Well, actually I have no idea what I am talking about right now. Or more, why I am writing this *laughes*

one last point though. I am a R/Hr, D/G and George/Luna fan by heart BUT, just like you said, I can see all the various appeals one can have for all the other pairings! H/Hr do have a lot of potential, as have Draco/Pansy in their own twisted way. So I really happy to see in you someone who recedes from all this pointless "shipping wars". Really people ... *shakes head*

One thing I am convinced about after reading this though is that ... you are a secret Harry/The giant Squid shipper ;) Never have I seen anyone mention this pairing so many times in one essey :D

I wish a good day and will go on reading your aother fabulous stories!
Name: Embellished reviewed Chapter 5 on Aug 22, 2006 01:15 pm
Hm. The tie-in with Gnosticism is fascinating. At first I thought "Nah!", but the more I think about it, the more it actually seems to fit. Not that I think we will see it literally, but I am sure the theme of sacrifice will prominent in the end. I also agree that Dumbledore has more information to give to Harry in some way, and I suspect that the rest of Harry's dead (Sirius, his parents, maybe even Cedric) have something to contribute as well. The search for the Horcruxes will bring him in touch with those he has lost, and he will learn something about love and sacrifice from them along the way. Anyway, I am blathering so I will stop now. But you have definitely gotten me thinking. Thanks so much for posting this!
Name: iseethestrals reviewed Chapter 5 on Aug 21, 2006 08:58 pm
wow. After reading the entire presentation and thinking back on my own ideas/feelings of the HP series, a whole new outlook as to what will happen (and what has already happened) has been revealed! I'm a big fanfic reader, and it's amazing as to how the stories I've read that incorporated bits of your ideas seemed to ring more true than others (ie where Harry/Snape must not only work together towards defeating Voldie, but that forgiveness and understanding must develop to a certain degree between them to fulfill their quest/destiny etc)
I also had never realized the extent of Harry's alienation towards Ginny. I always thought that his cold to hot temperment towards her were a bit off. The glaring fact that Harry couldn't have given a second thought to Ginny for the first five books then all of a sudden she's everywhere and he can't stop thinking about her seems a bit iffy to me. But taking a step back from the romantic aspect of their relationship and realizing that they never *talked* about anything (important) and that Harry was most likely *never going to* puts a dark cloud over any change in their relationship, past the she's his best mates little sister.
There seems to be a much better basis for a Draco/Ginny ship (not just because I'm an obvious fan of this ship) but because Ginny has more of a history with the Malfoys than she does with Harry. That diary didn't pop up out of nowhere, and she definitely didn't forget about it after it was gone.
Anyways, that's my two cents. Love the presentation, wish I could have been there. Love your stories. Can't wait for your next post!
Name: Embellished reviewed Chapter 4 on Aug 20, 2006 05:21 am
I have thought for quite a while that Snape would be a key player in Harry defeating Voldemort. I had never thought of the idea of Harry forgiving him as the key. But it is intriguing and would fit with my thoughts that Snape will sacrifice himself for Harry--that could be the trigger that allows Harry to see that he deserves forgiveness.

Anyway, I find your theories to be fascinating. Thanks for posting them!
Name: cancertopia reviewed Chapter 3 on Aug 17, 2006 12:10 pm
muahahaha. Very nicely written. I wish I could've been there to see you present this. D/G Twu Wuv Forevah!
Name: adorame reviewed Chapter 3 on Aug 16, 2006 10:13 am
Hmmm. this 2nd part is interesting! I never got to deep in the ships for Harry like this before. I can see were your coming from on each one. Good Job on this one!
Name: Sarah Prowess reviewed Chapter 3 on Aug 16, 2006 10:12 am
Love your theories!! I noticed, especially in OoTP, how much Harry didn't accept information from Ginny, but I never really noticed how it carried into the rest of the books.

Is the next part going to have that bit you mentioned about d/g? Really interested in reading that! Please update soon!
Name: Judibry reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 15, 2006 04:03 pm
I agree
It doesn't make sense that she would spend so much time on something that isn't important.

What's weird is that they are immoral, but Mrs. W and the girls giggle about them and WWW sells them.
Name: mugglemum reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 15, 2006 12:27 pm
I like what you are saying. I to think that Love Potions played a big part in this book. I also think that we might find out that Hermione was doseing Harry with Love Potions and it may come out in the last book. Heres hoping :) It would make a great story line and may break up the Trio. But only the great J.K. knows for sure. Great fodder for thinking.
Name: tudorrose1533 reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 15, 2006 09:20 am
Great essay. Really convincing, and very neutral in terms of ships, so nobody could accuse you of wanting things to work out such-and-such a way for D/G purposes!

And very well thought out, as well. I never connect the books that well, frankly...I just don't see the arcs, but you do. :-)
Name: beckysue2 reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 15, 2006 08:44 am
very insightful, as always! great job!
Name: WG reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 15, 2006 04:10 am
The trip to Vegas would have been worth it just to hear u present this. Great work!
Name: Anya reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 15, 2006 12:39 am
I wish I could've been there... Oh blast the exchange rates and such!
JKR wouldn't do that? Sure. The same way we could think she wouldn't kill Sirius, or Dumbledore, and she did it, didn't she? The whole thing about the emotional journey gets straight to the point, to what are these books. It's not hard to see the growing of the characters during the whole story, as goes the growing of the readers of such story. And since JKR doesn't spend a lot babbling about physical growth, it's not hard to see the maturity grownth of all of them. Sirius was immature, a bad example for all, and ended up accordingly, Dumbledore had to die, cause both Harry and Draco needed this experience, mostly Harry since he'd never been alone the whole series. Now we just have to wait and see.
*adding some cookies to Anise's side of the bet, now you can get her $100.00 and all the chocolate-chip cookies you can eat, willing to bet?*
Name: jandjsalmon reviewed Chapter 1 on Aug 14, 2006 05:59 pm
Interesting. (As I find all your work of course) We talk so often about Harry's emotional journey, but you're right, it's one for Draco as well (despite the lack of love from JKR).
You must login (register) to review.