Name: pitzi reviewed Chapter 9 on Apr 25, 2011 11:17 pm
Various obligations prevented me from reviewing last couple of chapters but I've read them eagerly still! It's funny, each time I see a new chapter of this I hope to finally find some answers, but I mostly get new questions instead (which means that I await each new chapter more impatiently).

I think Scorpius needs a big big hug. He is so lonely in this big mosoleum of a house! His father is so consummed by everything he's trying to repress and deny that he is emotionaly unavailible to his son and his mother seems to be ocupied with her own affairs. No wonder that what's left to him is to dwell on his obsession with Ginny!

Just tell me, will he ever be happy? Because as far as things are right now I don't see any possibility for his happiness with Ginny but who knows what future plot twists will bring.

I'm glad that Scorpius embraces all the parts of his personality as opposed to his father who repressed all those things. It makes Scorpius's personality much healthier.

it's so sad really that Draco and Scorpius are virtually strangers to each other. I kinda dread how much worse it will turn out when Draco learns just who his son is in love with. He's bound to learn at some point I guess, seeing that Scorpius has Ginny's pictures and everything. Draco's even posessive of the jewelery that she touched! I wonder what was the story with that neckless.

Oh, and I liked how you wrote that scene where Draco talks to Scorpius but actually tries to convince himself that his business with Ginny is over.

And I'm finishing my review with even more questions! Like what's the secret with Lily? Why can't Draco divorce Astoria? O.K. I'll stop for now!

I hope you update really soon!

Author's Response: Hi Pitzi! (waves) Oh, I always want to hug Scorpius too... (((lots of virtual hugs))) He has a lot to go through. But, yes. He will eventually find happiness. However, that doesn't really give anything away, because he's the kind of person who will eventually be happy, no matter what. That doesn't say anything about what will-- or won't-- happen along the way with Ginny or anyone else. ;) You've managed to pick out a couple of important questions for sure... yes, there's a secret with Lily, and there's a very important reason why Draco can't divorce Astoria (and vice versa, actually.) But, no answers just yet. Soon, though.... :)
Name: Mungihead reviewed Chapter 9 on Apr 25, 2011 05:26 pm
Gosh, this is fantastic! Had to reread some parts (my eyes are glazed over from notes about eubacteria) and so I totally missed that fact that the Ginny was a photograph, and I was like, "Wait, huh?"

Anyways, brilliant, and keep it up! (And just making sure, you're not abandoning DDD, right?! please say no, otherwise I might tear up :P)

LOVING IT!! :) I"m not actually sure to be Team Draco or Team Scorpius in this story, so yeah..:)

xoxoxooxxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxo,
M :)

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! (Does A Happy Dance. :) Nope, NOT abandoning DDD. I just worked on the next chapter last night, in fact. :) And I love the Team Draco vs. Team Scorpius thing... but in the end... I can't explain it at this point, because it would give too much away. Let's just say that it's all the same team. :)
Name: Boogum reviewed Chapter 9 on Apr 23, 2011 01:25 am
You know, I really shouldn't have tried to read this chapter today. I'm so drugged out on flu medicine and have been trying to do work, so my brain is pretty much blegh right now. That being said, I found this chapter quite fascinating. The conversation between Draco and photograph!Ginny did go a bit over my poor tired head sometimes, just because I was trying to work out 'how' it all fit together and worked, but seeing the way Scorpius responded to her was both tragic and touching. He is so obsessed with her that he is even willing to pretend to be his father.

I think my favourite part of this chapter was the part where Scorpius realised the difference between he and his father. The fact he can admit his weaknesses tells of his strength, while it is Draco -- the one who lies and hides - who really is being eaten up by all he is trying to deny. Now I just really want to know what will happen next.

Author's Response: I've been sick too... I think it's been going around (the entire world, apparently.) Anyway, basically, here's what happened, just to make sure it's all clear: Scorpius was talking to a photograph of Ginny taken when she was sixteen years old at Hogwarts. It happened to have been taken on the exact day that she'd decided to finally sleep with the seventeen-year-old Draco. Because her real self had already made that choice, her photograph-self knew about it. But because photo-Ginny only *remembered* all the delicious things that her real-self had done with Draco-- rather than actually having experienced them-- she just could not resist tempting him into kissing her, even though she knew that as a photo-self, she wasn't supposed to. (Of course, she didn't know that she was actually talking to Scorpius, either.) What surprised her so much is that it really shouldn't have been possible for that kiss to even happen, and from what we've read so far, if it had been anybody but Scorpius, it couldn't have happened.

Scorpius knew the entire time that everything he was doing with photo-Ginny was a terrible idea, because it could only feed his obsession further, and she didn't even know who he really was. I also think he knew all along that none of it would make any difference as far as what had really happened-- the real Ginny wouldn't know anything about what her photo-self had done. But he just could not resist. I agree that the difference is shown when Scorpius realizes just how weak he was, and that his weaknesses aren't simply going to go away. Poor Draco. He's even obsessed with the jewelry. ;) But there's so much we don't know about why he made the choices he did. And, of course, we'll find out.. ;)
Name: empresskong reviewed Chapter 9 on Apr 23, 2011 12:11 am
Enjoying the development of Scorpuis as he's ready to admit his obsession. The dark Draco with a colder motive is very starkly compared to the purer of heart more gentle son. I hope Ginny enjoys the adoring Scorpius.

Lady Grey was Ginny's kin!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Yes, Scorpius does have that ability to freely admit the truth to himself, and by this point in the fic, Draco has made the kind of choices in his life that have really closed off that ability for him. (But we don't yet know the reasons why, either.) I worked out an entire Malfoy family tree at one point. :) Edward VI, the last Tudor king, was a Malfoy ancestor. Lady Jane Grey was a Weasley ancestress. Since she was also a grandchild of Elizabeth Woodville, queen of England with yet *another* Edward, and Edward VI and Jane were also second cousins, let's just say that there's a lot of royalty in both Draco and Ginny's backgrounds. (This is all based on the kinds of things you can get into if you spend enough time on ancestry.com, btw.)
Name: a_gypsys_dance reviewed Chapter 8 on Apr 21, 2011 07:33 pm
Ah! How is it that every new story you publish is so engaging as to make up for the unfinishedness of the last one? :) Haha, keep it coming!

Author's Response: Do NOT worry. DDD WILL get finished. NYT too. Scorpius is just being very, very, very insistent right now, in his unassuming way. So he wants this fic to be worked on first, and I can't say no. The next chapter... lordie, lordie. It's kind of evil. ;)
Name: o_nessie_o reviewed Chapter 7 on Apr 21, 2011 10:56 am
Cant wait to read more! You should definitly write more!

Author's Response: Thanks! There's more coming soon, and Chapter 9.... well, I'm not exactly sure what readers are going to think of it. I think they'll either love it or hate it. Let's just say that. ;)
Name: empresskong reviewed Chapter 8 on Apr 20, 2011 10:15 pm
This chapter shows just how one sided Draco can be and preoccupied with just his perspective. In contrast, it's so clear why Scorp seems so pure and luckily has inherited his father's good looks!

Author's Response: Yes, Draco can definitely be that way, and the kind of life he's ended up having to date in MIaG has encouraged the worst parts of his personality in that way. And yes, Scorpius has the Malfoy family resemblance.... which just might turn out to be important in Chapter 9. You never know. ;)
Name: Erica T reviewed Chapter 1 on Apr 20, 2011 10:36 am
I normally wait for completed stories before I read them, but something about this one called to me, and I'm really glad that I decided to start reading it.
I'm loving the feel that history is repeating itself in a weird twisted way here, and that the possibility of a happy ending is there, but it won't happen unless they really try for it. Whether there will be a happy ending though, I can't wait to find out.

Author's Response: Thanks! This story ends when Scorpius is 19 and has a defined number of events on the way, so it has a naturally short length, shall we say. ;) I do think that one of the central conflicts in this fic is the struggle between history repeating itself and all of the characters fighting desperately to keep that from simply happening, no matter how relentlessly events seem to conspire against them. They're all fighting for that happy ending, including some characters who haven't even really had their say yet. Only time will tell if they succeed. ;)
Name: icthestrals reviewed Chapter 8 on Apr 20, 2011 09:37 am
Another wonderful chapter. I love Scorpius being afraid of his house and the would-be vampires. I think most of us have had that kind of fear at some point, even at home. And this photo-Ginny is very interesting. She seems very motherly towards him. Is that a hint at what real Ginny thinks of Scorpius, just like referring to him as a child? The last scene with Ginny and Draco was also very sad. I like that she referenced the break-up. It's still just as heart-breaking that he cannot or will not give her what she neeeds. I'm sure that will be explained at some point. And what a terrible law to live under - these witches need to unite and protest or something! Look forward to more!

Author's Response: Thanks! I do see Malfoy Manor as a very creepy place at the best of times, and now he's stuck there all alone... but not for long. But I can't answer the questions about photo-Ginny, of course. ;) Yes, I think that the D/G scene was very sad, too. Draco truly can't give Ginny what she needs, but he could explain why not, and he just won't do that. However, we *will* eventually know the answer to that mystery. The law is pretty awful, but I see it as a relatively recent one in the wizarding world and a reaction against an older pagan tradition. It basically follows the structure of both British and American law right up until well into the 20th century. Fathers essentially retained the exclusive right to their children until the advent of child labor laws, when their offspring were no longer an economic asset, but a liability.
Name: humaira reviewed Chapter 8 on Apr 20, 2011 06:52 am
Draco makes me so mad sometimes!! He's so arrogant.

Author's Response: He definitely is, and that part of his character has been developed extensively in this particular version of Draco. But when he loves, he still loves profoundly, and he never stops loving. Guess how well it's going to go when he learns that his son loves Ginny, too... ;)
Name: o_nessie_o reviewed Chapter 1 on Apr 20, 2011 05:02 am
That was very good. You should be an author!! Ur so good. Omg .

Author's Response: Thanks! More soon.
Name: Boogum reviewed Chapter 8 on Apr 19, 2011 11:23 pm
Aww, poor Scorpius. I really do feel for him.

Draco can be so thick sometimes. How can he expect Ginny to divorce Harry when he won't divorce Astoria? Of course she's going to say no.

Author's Response: I feel for Scorpius too. But we'll learn more in the next chapter about what kind of decisions he makes when it comes to Ginny.... Now, about Draco. The D/G scene really sums up his character at this point in the fic, I think. He does have reasons why he can't divorce Astoria; it's true that Ginny can divorce Harry, but that Draco can't do the same thing to Astoria. But he's completely convinced that Ginny should just love him so blindly that she'll make her sacrifice without even knowing why he can't make his. Being Draco, he's furious that she won't do it. He's a lot like NYT's Draco, actually, only more bitter and arrogant and emotionally closed off because of the choices he's made. Yet he's still capable of love, and so is his son, and of course they love the same woman... and yes, you KNOW there's going to be a time when Draco finds out about this. ;)
Name: Boogum reviewed Chapter 7 on Apr 19, 2011 01:17 pm
I loved reading this chapter, even though I was getting distracted every few minutes. There's something very vulnerable about Scorpius, and it's really interesting to read. He's not like Draco, even though they have similar experiences, and the more you read about this, the more you see that.

I wonder why Draco is really coming home.

Author's Response: Yes, Scorpius is very vulnerable, but he's not in as much denial about his vunerabiity as Draco is. :P But you're right-- he's also very different from his father. Now, as for the issue of Draco coming home... there's more to find out about that, let's just say. And we'll learn it in the very next chapter!
Name: humaira reviewed Chapter 7 on Apr 17, 2011 07:40 pm
Aww I feel bad for Scorp. He doesn't have a supporting family and he is still a fairly private person around his friends, doesn't seem like he shares much with them. I LOVELOVELOVE how you characterize Ginny... she's always soo strong and I just admire her. I admire all of your characterizations of canon.

Haha except for Harry! That's cuz I'm an avid H/G supporter like I've said before haha. It's just that Draco was a big wuss in the last book, and he seemed really ... dumb. One minute he was weeping over Crabbe (or Goyle? can't remember who died) and the next second he was acting like an idiot trying to convince one of the Death Eaters that he was on their side. But I think D/G would probably work better than H/G. I'm just curious - do you like Harry in Rowling's books? Actually everything about you really :P

Anyway merci for the great literature :)

WHEN ARE YOU POSTING DDD? Soon I hope!!

Author's Response: I feel bad for Scorpius at this point too, but a lot of events lie ahead in his future, trust me. What can I say about Harry... he just showed up that way in this fic. :P He keeps turning up with this characterization... there's nothing I can do about it, you see... (I wonder why they keep chasing me with those butterfly nets?) And ack, don't get me started on what happened to both Draco and Ginny's characters in DH!! The travesty of it all!!!! My major problem with canon-Harry, actually, is how he thinks and behaves in relation to Ginny. That's an entire essay of its own (truthfully, it is.) But anyway. There really is more of DDD coming soon-- what's held it up is that I've been SO sick with a horrible virus, and I had several chapters of MIaG done, but not DDD. Never fear, we'll find out much more about what's happening between Draco and Ginny in that Crystal Palace bedroom soon... ;)
Name: calleope reviewed Chapter 6 on Apr 17, 2011 05:30 pm
For some reason I heard Yoda speaking when the goblin was leading Scorpius away at the end. It amused me ;)
Anyway, another good chapter. But I am dying to know what the deal with Lily is. I have my suspicions... But you have a knack for red herrings, so I'll wait for it.

Author's Response: Um... it's possible that Yoda may have been an inspiration. (looks around shiftily) And we'll find out about Lily, all right. ;)
Name: pitzi reviewed Chapter 7 on Apr 17, 2011 11:01 am
You know, i kinda wish that Scorpius found himself a nice girl and tried out a real relationship. It's sad that he decided that if not Ginny then nobody and just gets into sexual relationships.

Is Nora in love with him?

Is Draco trying to sabotage Harry's broom business? Also it infuriates me that although he realizes that he failed to build a proper father-son relationship with Scorpius, he does nothing to try fix something of it.

Does James know about Scorpius's obsession with his mother?

And Alec Zabini was a nice drop of honey in the middle of all the sadness.

That was just SOME of the questions and you probably can't answer them too... Oh, well...

Author's Response: I think that Scorpius knows he just can't do it right now, and that he'd only end up hurting any girl who truly wanted a serious relationship. No, Nora isn't in love with him, although there are times when I think she wishes deep down that he was capable of giving her more than he can give. Now, you KNOW I can't tell you about what Draco is doing right now... but no, James doesn't actually know. Scorpius is just feeling very paranoid on that subject. And I love Alec too! He's such a trip. :) More soon.
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Chapter 7 on Apr 17, 2011 08:32 am
an interesting chapie..

Author's Response: Interesting is the word, and it's only going to get more so. More soon! :)
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 17, 2011 08:15 am
now i know the history of ginny & draco... how can scopius see the past? great chapie as usual..

Author's Response: Well, that's PART of their history... there are some crucial details we don't yet know. But we will. ;) The next chapter kind of explains why Scorpius saw a vision from the past, but just to clarify: James was there; Scorpius just didn't realize it, and James sees the past.
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Chapter 3 on Apr 17, 2011 07:59 am
great chapie.. did scorpius really see ginny? or was it a dream??

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, Scorpius really did see Ginny. She was actually in the tower.
Name: iliveilearnilove reviewed Chapter 7 on Apr 17, 2011 04:26 am
This chapter was both compelling and hilarious, the craziness of horny teenagers gets me every time, I loved it. I lost it when Scorpius said, "Think of it as the early retirement of Scorpius Malfoy, Sex God of Hogwarts". Where can I find a Malfoy?

Author's Response: Thanks! Well, actually, in this reality... there are an awful lot of Malfoys. There was one fic where I explained the origin of the Malfoys (I can't remember which one at the moment.) They came from the det Ondetro family in Denmark, who raided the coast in Viking ships and were pounced on by nuns in the coastal convents. Since nearly all Malfoy babies are boys, this expanded the Malfoy ranks very quickly. So by the time of this fic, Malfoys had been spread far and wide, and they all look like Draco and Scorpius. :) They're easy to find, if you can get your hands on a time-and-space travel machine that can span sixty-four dimensions. I'm still working on inventing one of those, and I'll let you know how it goes... ;)
Name: pitzi reviewed Chapter 6 on Apr 16, 2011 10:57 am
i wonder what's wrong with Draco. And something is boubd to happen in Budapest, I'm sure. Should we await explosion?
Anyway, I don't have time for a real review but this chapter left me with a lot of questions and pity for scorpius for being every girl's guinea pig.

Author's Response: Huh. Everyone seems to feel sorry for Scorpius... It's weird, because I didn't see his situation that way when I originally wrote it, but now I actually think I do. None of the girls ever really meant to take advantage of him, but that's what they ended up doing. OTOH, Scorp wasn't exactly fighting them off with a stick, either... :P Anyway. Things are going to happen in Budapest, all right, but I don't think they're exactly what anyone expects. More soon! :)
Name: openskys reviewed Chapter 6 on Apr 15, 2011 06:00 pm
Oh this was absolutely wonderful! I wonder what's up with Lily though, I for a second thought perhaps that she was Draco and Ginnys love child but I don't know if that would even fit into the story. I could see Harry thinking she was and it would kind of explain Scorpius lack of attraction for her, but it just seems to obvious.

Your stories are never obvious. And Budapest! I hope we learn what's going on there and we get more flash backs again :)

Author's Response: Nope. I try to not channel the obvious ones, anyway. ;) And that's all I'll say! Oh, we'll find out more about what's going on in Budapest, all right. But whether we'll get more flashbacks or not... let's just say that we'll get more D/G, coming up soon...
Name: Boogum reviewed Chapter 6 on Apr 15, 2011 01:32 pm
I actually found this chapter really disturbing, and it was because of the way the girls were using Scorpius. That kind of treatment is bound to have some serious impact on him, and that last 'orgy' scene honestly disgusted me at how completely selfish and forceful their behaviour was towards him. It was pretty much a gang rape when you think about it. He was too drunk to do otherwise.

I'm very curious to learn more about Scorpius's healing abilities, as well as what Lily has to do with the Draco/Ginny/Harry thing.

Author's Response: Ack. I never thought of the events of this chapter in that light (they've been brewing since the beginning, of course), but now that you put it that way, I can really see your point. To be fair, I don't think that any of the Hogwarts girls ever meant to do anything but have fun with Scorpius, and hurting him was the furthest thing from their minds. And none of his real friends, like Nora, had anything to do with the Gryffindor party incident (which I think also helps to subtly point out just how selfish Gryffindors can be.) What Scorpius doesn't really realize is that he's only slept with the self-centered, immature girls at Hogwarts, the ones who see him as a trophy, a notch on their belts, a prize, all because he's such a rarity-- a boy who's had the fabled pureblood initiation. I think that later in their lives, the girls will look back on these incidents and feel a little ashamed of themselves.

Anyway, we will learn more about Scorpius-as-healer and Lily's role later. Much more soon!
Name: empresskong reviewed Chapter 6 on Apr 14, 2011 11:10 pm
Lovely chapter!
I completely anticipate the shocking moment Alb finds out the truth of Scorpius' obsessions. The contrasts between any girl Scorp can have versus the one he cannot is very powerful. The boy king was a very nice touch of detail. The chapter was laced with hints and humor that balance the moodiness of Draco's behavior and our confused hero. Keep writing :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Yep, there will come a time when everyone finds out, let's just say. And a plot bunny has been gnawing at me with hints about Edward VI, who really did look like a Malfoy, but it's just going to have get in the pen with the rest and take its turn. :P More soon, and much, much more D/G coming up! This chapter has contained a lot of buildup.
Name: Paranoid_Schemer reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 09, 2011 02:14 pm
Your story has really captivated me. You're right it is unique from any that is out there and i'm dying to know exactly what the story with Draco and Ginny is. You're teasers are awful :( they just peak the curiosity even more lol. I'm really enjoying reading this as the story develops. Great job and can't wait for the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :) You know, the entire thing came to me as I was sitting in a Chinese restaurant in Portland's Chinatown with my brother, eating shrimp and thinking about Voodoo Donuts... maybe that has something to do with it... ;) Anyway, more soon! We *will* eventually find out exactly what's going on with Draco and Ginny, past, present, and future. ;)
You must login (register) to review.