Name: empresskong reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 08, 2011 12:40 am
I really enjoyed this chapter! Amazing twist on a classic pairing. The drama and angst is fully felt. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) More soon, and definitely more D/G interaction coming up, too... ;)
Name: calleope reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 05, 2011 05:01 pm
I just thought that "nothing better" sounded better than "Well I like getting morning head and Lobster Benedict better than reading your story on a Sunday morning, but it rates pretty high up there on my list" :P

But seriously, love this fic. You've done another heart-wrenching, odd, wonderful thing.

Author's Response: Well. Allrighty then. :) Anyway, more soon!
Name: Boogum reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 05, 2011 01:35 pm
Ahh, I've been meaning to read this story ever since I saw it had been updated, but darn work kept getting in the way.

I found the conversation with Prudence very fascinating. It seems to me like the Crystal Palace somehow 'construct' their girls with magic to resemble what the person undergoing his initiation most desires, whether that is consciously realised or not. In Draco and Scorpius's case, that was Ginny, yet Scorpius chose someone else because he knew, instinctively, it would mean nothing because Marie is not Ginny. I wonder what it meant for Draco to choose Marie and feel like he is being with Ginny, and whether that somehow fuelled his obsession even more.

I really feel like I'm getting to know Scorpius's character a bit more in this chapter. I like the fact he is a bit of a romantic (despite his vehement denial of this fact), and that he is not completely cocky, but is embarassed quite easily. It's much more human, and does set him apart from Draco, who we know had a bit more control.

What I most love, however, is how compassionate Scorpius actually is. I can't imagine him ever behaving to Ginny (or any girl) as Draco did, but then Draco experienced a very different life. Still, Scorpius's reaction to everything is very different to his father's, despite people saying how familiar they are.

I'm really pleased Ginny did walk away from Draco in that 'flashback'. Even if she did go to Harry, Draco really wasn't respecting her as he should. Of course, now sheis stuck with Harry, and he is still as git-like as ever, I see.

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Yes, we will see Prudence again (in DDD), so I couldn't resist giving her a cameo appearance here. I think that the 16-year-old Draco, too, had to know deep down that Marie was nothing more than an illusory version of Ginny; the difference between him and his son is that Draco had a much greater capacity for self-deception, and he just could not resist that illusion. I do love Scorpius's compassion. :) He has a very gentle heart. But then, as you point out, he's never had to deal with the things that Draco did, either.

I think that the low point of the whole scene may have been when Draco reminded her that she'd already given herself to him and wasn't innocent anymore, so since she couldn't live up to the standards of her world, she might as well become the official Malfoy mistress now. It took so much for her to walk away from him-- but I don't think she made the best choice by going to Harry, either.
Name: calleope reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 03, 2011 10:23 am
There is nothing better than waking up on a Sunday morning, curling up in my chair on the patio and reading Anise's latest installment. :)
Smashing job! Especially loved "the thickest bastard" bit at the end.

Author's Response: Oh... thanks! (Nothing better? Really? Not even winning the lottery? Well, maybe I'd better not push my luck... ;) Yes, Scorpius knows that he's getting in too deep, but whether that knowledge helps him or not remains to be seen...
Name: humaira reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 03, 2011 10:17 am
Amazing, amazing, amazing :)

Author's Response: Thanks! More soon. :)
Name: icthestrals reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 03, 2011 04:49 am
Another great chapter! What a sad break-up for Draco and Ginny. Of course who can blame her?

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, what Scorpius witnessed was actually the breakup scene, and I think that Ginny did what she had to do. She could not accept what Draco offered and continue to live with herself in the long run, especially after some of the things he said to her. But there really was no good choice to be made at the time, either, which is why everyone ended up in the mess that they did. More soon...
Name: iliveilearnilove reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 03, 2011 03:42 am
Loved it! Harry is such a butt, his description in this is exactly what I would picture him as which is crazy. As always my heart flutters for Draco hahahaha my favorite line of this chapter, "I am Draco Malfoy, I do not let go of anything that belongs to me, and you will always, always be mine.” I would have slapped him as well but I must admit the confidence/arrogance/wealthy man persona is HOTTTTT. Ok I feel like a groupie hahahaha

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Yes, Harry isn't horrible and evil here, but he just isn't very pleasant by this point whenever we see him interacting with Ginny. She had a hard time resisting the younger Draco, didn't she? I think that she was tempted to do what he wanted her to do for a moment, but in the end, she knew that she just couldn't accept such a small part of him, and that she would never be able to respect herself again if she did it. More soon...
Name: pitzi reviewed Chapter 5 on Apr 03, 2011 12:46 am
So Scorpiu tries to be in denial, he? Well, I'm glad that he finally comes to terms with himself and admits that his feelings didn't go anywhere. He definitely seems more mature than Draco was at this age.

Why are men scared to admit they are romantics?

Also how is it that Ginny continues to show up where Scorpius is?

It is sad how Ginny continues to visit places where she was happy with Draco once. And now we know that Draco chose to follow his family demands and expectations over being with Ginny, we already know she would never agree to be his mistress.

One more question - is there a reason why all the girls (except Rose) are under their mothers' last names?

Author's Response: Scorpius is different from Draco in some crucial ways (and certainly different from how Draco was at the same age, although Draco is actually 19 in the vision of the past that Scorpius saw.) And you're right about Ginny-- she couldn't resist visiting a place where she was once so happy meeting Draco, which is why she saw Scorpius there. We'll find out more about where she and Harry were headed in the next chapter. We do see in the vision where the breaking point really was between Draco and Ginny-- he wouldn't give up the family demands (although we don't yet know what those were), and she wouldn't accept the mistress role, which was all he was willing, or able, to offer her.

Actually, there is a reason why so many of the girls have their mothers' last names. It's an old pureblood wizarding tradition, although all of the families don't follow it. The Weasleys obviously don't, and of course Harry wouldn't. I'm not sure if Draco and Astoria would have done it, but they never had a daughter, so it didn't come up.
Name: humaira reviewed Chapter 4 on Apr 02, 2011 02:21 pm
also, i do see how harry isn't ideal for ginny in some ways! he can be self-centred haha

Author's Response: Well, I will say that in this fic, Harry isn't a horrible person or anything like that. ;) But when a marriage starts out the way theirs did, it can't be expected to go well. Each ended up with the other on the rebound from someone else (yes, Harry too), and that's without even getting into any other incompatibilities.
Name: humaira reviewed Chapter 4 on Apr 02, 2011 02:15 pm
thanks anise! actually, i have just found a few great ones! i like boogum too :)
Name: humaira reviewed Chapter 4 on Apr 01, 2011 05:25 pm
Excellent, haha i'm finding that draco has turned out a LOT like lucius! not completely of course. don't know what would happen if draco turned out to be a ravenclaw or didn't like quidditch, so at least draco is slightly more tolerating. anyway, can't wait to see what will happen!

dude i have searched and searched for a good fanfic, but i just haven't found a great one. why do they (authors) make draco to be completely misunderstood?!? he always turns out to be much mooooore sympathetic than he really is!! it annoys me not to mention slightly revolts me when draco says i love you sooo quickly in the fic, and leaves everything he's know for ginny. SO QUICKLY. like wtf. so please, if u know of a good one please recommend it to me!!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Yes, because of his choices, Draco has picked up a lot more of Lucius's personality traits than he would ever want to admit, but he does have some crucial differences, too. Lucius actually casts a very long shadow over all of the events of this fic, as we will eventually learn. I think you make some good points about the nature of D/G fanfic, but I think that some fics do avoid the overly-fluffy Draco problem, relatively speaking. Boogum's *Shades of Grey* comes to mind right away. And MIaG's Draco actually has ended up where he is because he chose to turn away from Ginny so many years ago... I can't reveal anything else, but trust me, he is not that Draco you fear. :P
Name: Boogum reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 27, 2011 10:57 pm
I'm afraid I had to skim-read a few parts of this chapter, but no matter. This story is much too good to pass up.

I'm fascinated to see how the Scorpius/Ginny/Draco triangle is actually going to work out. And I find it curious that Scorpius also had a Marie (I'm assuming Draco was with the same woman in this story). I don't know how this story is going to work out in a happy way, and perhaps you're not intending that at all. 'Suppose I'll just have to read on and see.

Author's Response: Well, yes... this WAS the chapter that was responsible for the rating being upped, that's true. ;) I guess I really should've known that I wouldn't be able to keep a fic below Extremely Naughty. Anyway. Yes, Scorpius had a Marie, and the fact that he does is one of the keys to who Marie actually was/is-- but I don't know if it will be possible to figure any of that out from this fic or not. I'm still toying with that idea. Suggestions will be taken on the subject. :) And as to whether this fic will have a happy ending or not... well, we'll find out about that soon enough!
Name: amethyst-rose reviewed Chapter 2 on Mar 27, 2011 05:08 pm
Another great chapter!! I love the interaction between Draco & Scorpius.

Author's Response: Thanks, I like that interaction too... and there WILL be much more of it.
Name: amethyst-rose reviewed Chapter 1 on Mar 27, 2011 04:52 pm
This is really good! Thanks for the A/N at the start too. The pairing/triangle has me quiet intrigued - I've never read it before. I love how you write Scorpius. It's all just so powerful and emotive.

Author's Response: Thanks! I thought that it was probably a good idea to let people know about all the pairings involved... well, we don't know about ALL of them yet, but D/G/S is clearly the significant triangle, and the others are pretty secondary next-gen relationships compared to it.
Name: iliveilearnilove reviewed Chapter 1 on Mar 26, 2011 11:53 pm
First let me say Ginny is one hell of a woman... I was planning to not read this (I detest new generation) but I clicked the button and now I'm here :) I'm so in like with Scorpius its ridiculous. I may find his obsession with Ginny a bit creepy in some aspects but it is the one thing that within this story makes a parallel form with his father outside of the typical Malfoy attributes. This story line reminds me of Portnoy's Complaint (Not sure if you have read it but its a little similar) except Ginny is not his mother (I was just as relieved that she wasn't as Scorpius!). I am very interested to see more of Ginny and her point of view or just more of her. I love the description of her as a cat it fits perfectly. I think that is enough early morning rambling... :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :) It's funny how many reviewers say that they normally don't like the next gen fics-- I really don't either, for the most part, but when the muse comes to visit... ;) I just got such a strong sense of who Scorpius is; he's so different from Draco in some ways, and then so similar to him in other ways, not all which he even realizes. I did read Portnoy's Complaint, but it was so long ago... I'm not even sure I remember anything except about the plot, except for the last line! ;) And yes, making Ginny his mother would be just a little too creepy for words. We WILL see more of Ginny, and more D/G too. And early morning rambling is always good. :)
Name: LovelyHava reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 26, 2011 08:19 pm
I LOVED this chapter. My apologies, law school has made me a horrible reviewer (or non-reviewer as it were) but I read every new chapter of each of your stories with unbelievable fervor. I love the mystery of Draco and Ginny in this fic and I find myself quite drawn to Scorpius and his troubled thoughts. My favorite part of this chapter was the introduction of Marie. I feel like I've been waiting ages to meet her and now I understand why. Brilliant chapter, brilliant fic. Can't wait for the next update.

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Yes, life does get in the way, doesn't it? ;) There are definitely a lot of mysteries surrounding Draco and Ginny in this fic-- their past history, what originally drove them apart, what's going to happen to them in the future-- and we WILL find out the answers. I just couldn't resist the Marie-cameo. ;) And there will be more soon!
Name: Ramani85 reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 26, 2011 02:22 pm
Thinking about this story and this chapter a little more: Ginny doesn't die at the end, does she? It just seems that although she is somewhat interactive in the story and is absolutely integral, she is not as interactive as the other characters...

Author's Response: Oh, the character death warning! Well, I can't reveal who that is, obviously. :P It could be one of the cats, for all we know. And Ginny will have her say pretty soon! :)
Name: Ramani85 reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 26, 2011 01:57 pm
This story really is... wow. All of your fics are really elegant, but I think this may be my favorite. I love how the story unfolds slowly as Scorpius discovers the extent of his fixation with Ginny, and I love how you weave it into Draco and Ginny’s tangled relationship. I thought it was really interesting that Marie made an appearance—looks like Ginny is a bigger part of Scorpius than he even suspected. My favorite line in Chapter 4 is Draco’s voice in Scorpius’ head: “She’s mine, mine, mine, do you hear me, Scorpius Malfoy? Do you hear me, my son, my thieving son, attempting to steal the one possession that means anything to me in this world?” It’s so very Draco, and I think it grasps the essence of this triangle well. It does make me wonder about what this will do to Draco and Scorpius’ relationship, though—I mean, it’s already strained, and I feel like Scorpius’ obsession with Ginny will cause an irrevocable schism between father and son. I can’t imagine Draco forgiving Scorpius for this. Also, I’m curious about how Ginny will respond to an adult Scorpius—especially since he’s so alike and yet so different from Draco. In fact, he seems like an almost gentled version of Draco—Draco without all the cutting edges.

Truly told, I thought you were going to wait until Draco died before tying Scorpius and Ginny together, so I’m really eager to see where you take this story!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) This just seems like an unfolding-slowly type of fic to me-- Scorpius isn't the pouncing type, which is one of the qualities that does make him so different from Draco. And yes, that's one of the big questions: what will happen to the relationships that Scorpius has with so many characters because of his Ginny-fixation? Not only with Draco, but with Albus, James, and Rose. Anyway, more soon!
Name: openskys reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 26, 2011 12:42 pm
oh Anise this is absolutely wonderful! I love that your so blunt about sex and yet it isn't crass at all, in a way it fits perfectly with this story! I cannot wait for more :D

I love Scorpius' obsession with Ginny and that he isn't in slytherin and that Alec is gay. I pretty much love everything about this story, espesically Dracos mood changes and how he can be caring then be cruel a moment later. I wonder though why Lily seems so 'lifeless' is it because she really is Scorpius' half sister and that's why she's so unattractive to him and I want more D/G! Also what is up with Harry and Ginnys relationship? Why didn't Ginny and Draco work out?

So many questions, I can't wait for them to be answered :D!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you! (happy dance) A lot of details about this fic just seemed right to me. I didn't see Scorpius in Slytherin; I had a really strong image of Alec as being gay. I don't think that Lily actually is as "lifeless" as she seems to Scorpius, but there's nothing about her that appeals to him personally-- she's not sexy to him, she's not intelligent in the way that Rose Weasley is, she loves Quidditch, which he doesn't, and she's really not much like Ginny. Also, there's that cliche of Scorpius being attracted to Lily just because she's Ginny's daughter, and I just didn't see it here. I don't know if there will be much H/G actually shown here... it somehow doesn't seem interesting enough to have revealed itself very much. Ginny turned to Harry after the disaster that was the end of her relationship with Draco (although their love never really ended, of course.) Harry isn't a villain here, really, but he and Ginny don't have much in common besides the children. I can't tell you why Ginny and Draco didn't work out... not yet... ;) And there WILL be more D/G!
Name: pitzi reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 26, 2011 11:28 am
One more thing: thinking of the dialogue between Draco and Scorius, why can't i shake the feeling that Draco is going to off himself?

Author's Response: Oh no! Okay, just so you're not worrying about that: Draco does NOT kill himself in this fic. But he does worry about his relationship with his son, much more than he usually lets on. He's just so emotionally closed off that he doesn't really know how to begin to bridge that gap.
Name: openskys reviewed Chapter 1 on Mar 26, 2011 10:47 am
So I always start your fics and then I always get super confused but I'm really loving this one so I'm going to tough it out! Basically what I'm trying to say is your an amazing writer and your fics always make me think and pay attention to the story! Oh and also:

Also, it's short!

Famous last words! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Nope, this one really WILL be short. It ends when Scorpius is 19 years old, so there's only so long it can last!
Name: pitzi reviewed Chapter 4 on Mar 26, 2011 10:39 am
You write this so incredibly well, that the reader can actually feel Scorpius' emotions, his longing for Ginny, his sexual frustration. I can't even start to figure out how he will ever end up with her in real life.
Was Ginny really in the tower or was it a vision and she was really elsewhere? she is clearly unhappy, that much is obvious from their previous encounter too. And Draco made her cry again. I suppose James sees things from Ginny and Draco's past? I'm still concerned about scorpius' and Albus' friendship.
You just couldn't resist putting marie there, could you? Was she there because she was Draco's initiation girl?
In any case I'm glad Scorpius didn't pick her even though she was supposed to be for him.
I'm looking forward to what's up next.

Author's Response: Thank you! :) Yes, at this point we really can't see what's going to happen, and it's because *he* can't begin to imagine it. He's not letting himself even admit that his father and Ginny have loved each other all their lives, so he clearly can't deal with his own feelings about her, and the poor kid is only 16, after all... ;) (Although in the Aniseverse, 16 is the age of majority for wizards.) James was seeing things that had happened in the past, but when Scorpius went up to the tower, he really did see Ginny, and she was actually there at that time. Um, no, I couldn't resist Marie... (squrims) Marie is a mystery, isn't she? And Scorpius just knew that he couldn't pick her, so he picked a girl who was kind of like a younger version of Millicent Bulstrode, which Nora is too. I always like Millicent. :) More soon!
Name: Punckmonkies reviewed Chapter 1 on Mar 25, 2011 07:56 pm
pleaseeeeee post the next chapter soon!! i'm so into this story it's unbelievable!! awesome job!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's coming up very soon, and it's the first one that really earns the... ahem... upwardly adjusted rating. ;)
Name: moliosi reviewed Chapter 3 on Mar 25, 2011 06:45 am
This is a very intriguing story. I generally don't care for the next generation fictions, but something about this one has kept me turning the page. I really like the way that you are slowly revealing snippets of the past through Scorpius. Keep up the good work, I'll be looking for updates to this one!

Author's Response: Thanks! :) Yes, it's weird how this one just sort of came to me when I usually don't like the next gen fics very much either, but for some reason, it did, and it's kept on doing it. ;) More coming soon!
Name: Mungihead reviewed Chapter 1 on Mar 22, 2011 02:40 pm
So, I went back and browsed the reviews....and he GETS HIS INITIATION CEREMONY? holy crapp!!!!! Now, I REALLY can't wait for the next chaptersss :)

Author's Response: Browsing the reviews often leads to many fascinating pieces of info... ;) And yes, of course Scorpius gets the traditional CP pureblood ceremony! He's a Malfoy, after all. ;) (Remember those little hints about how he inherited *all* of the, ahem, Malfoy traits?)
You must login (register) to review.