Reviews For Flatmates
Name: Desertisle reviewed Flatmates on Jan 27, 2016 05:48 pm
Such a well written, thought out story. Really liked it. Kudos to you. Thanks for writing it!
Name: vintagepearls reviewed Flatmates on Dec 02, 2014 09:57 pm
I favorited this story a while ago, but never got the chance to review it. Really loved the buildup between Ginny and Draco's relationship; one of my peeves is reading stories where they rush into things, so thanks for avoiding that. I read this several times already because it's just so good! Thanks for the great read, and looking forward to more of your work :D

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you. It's often hard to show a genuine build-up in a one-shot, so I'm glad I achieved this. :) As for new work, expect something in January, as I've signed up for the DG Fic Exchange on FFN. :D
Name: SilverAura09 reviewed Flatmates on Aug 16, 2014 03:14 pm
Oh, this was such a joy to read! The story progression and character development were spot on, great job! I hope you continue writing. The D/G fandom needs more authors like you. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm glad you liked it. :) Right now I'm working on original fiction, but I'll probably write another DG fic for the next DG Fic Exchange. :D
Name: SniperTeamTango reviewed Flatmates on Jul 31, 2014 06:46 pm
Overstayed my night, was determined to finish it. its that good :)

Liked the deja vu, clever touch.

Author's Response: Aw, well, thank you. If I've kept you from doing other things, like sleeping, I know that my job's been done here. ;P
Name: Anise reviewed Flatmates on Jul 31, 2014 06:43 pm
First of all, thanks for posting this fic on FIA. :)

So you finished this the same day it was due, huh... You clearly should write to an insane deadline more often. It certainly worked here!! ;)

There are so many great lines here... I thought about trying to list them, but then, well, it would have been almost as long as the fic. Just take my word for it. Lots of great lines. ;)

I love the arc of Ginny's attraction to Draco. It's very unwilling at first, and then it settles down into something more repressed because of the kind of relationship that she chooses to have with him. I think that the idea of admitting her attraction really frightens her at first, and it takes her some time to come to terms with it. Such an interesting way of portraying this... much more so than if they'd actually had a one-night stand, I think.

This particular Ginny is so interesting. She has the potential for a lot of passion and desire, but she's never developed it. I think she's smart to get away from the Burrow...

Here's my favorite part...the part that begins withIf she were to be completely honest, she didn’t quite understand the appeal of sex. Sure, it was enjoyable and a fun way to pass the time, but it wasn’t all it was cracked up to be.

I love this thoughtful take on how Harry and Ginny's relationship would have worked; it feels so believable. Harry isn't a horrible jerk (which I kind of tend to make him into...) and he does try to please Ginny-- sort of. But he doesn't know what he's doing, and he's not all that interested in learning. Ginny doesn't tell him what she likes, but then, he doesn't ask. It's kind of a failure on both sides, a careful analysis of incompatability symbolized by the issues the two of them had with sex.

The jealous kiss! It's here at last. But I love that it doesn't turn into something further right then and there, that Ginny won't accept anything between her and Draco on those terms.

But then they agree to keep their distance... (sniff) This Draco is a lot more unsure of himself than he seems to be at first.

They finally get together! Yay! LOVE THE ENDING. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Their attraction to each other, their *rightness* for each other, is so perfectly explained.

AGAIN, LOVE.

Maybe this fic wouldn't have been as good as it is if you'd had too much time, if you'd overthought it. It feels so spontaneous, as if it's actually unfolding before our eyes in real time. It's like a perfect flower that takes exactly the right amount of time to bloom. This is actually perhaps my favorite fic of yours to date.

So. I think you should try this technique more often. I.e...

YOU HAVE TEN MINUTES TO WRITE A NOVEL LENGTH D/G FIC HURRY GO HERE'S YOUR ULTRABOOK.

No? ;)

Author's Response: Yay, thank you. :D I have to admit the whole time I was writing this, I was thinking, 'This is going to be shit!' Although I did like writing the one-night stand fake-out. I was patting myself on the back for that. Lol. Everything else just sort of fell into place. I always wanted Draco falling for Ginny first and being the first to admit it and Ginny being, well, repressed. Since she was somewhat repressed sexually, being repressed emotionally made sense too. But of course she'd end up falling for OCD Draco. Who wouldn't? He's friggin' adorable, even when he's angry jealous! As for giving me an on-the-spot deadline, yeah... I don't think I'm consistent enough. Working well under pressure might only work 5 out of 10 times... or less. I just got lucky. We'll see what I produce for the next writing challenge/exchange. :D
Name: Lady Mischief reviewed Flatmates on Jul 31, 2014 04:11 pm
I loved how they both were jealous at different times in the story. I really enjoyed reading it.

Author's Response: Thank you. I always enjoy stories where one of them falls before the other. Usually Draco falls first because Ginny too stubborn. ;P
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Flatmates on Jul 30, 2014 01:08 pm
cute & love the fic, to pieces!!!

Author's Response: Thank you. n_n
Name: idreamofdraco reviewed Flatmates on Jul 29, 2014 03:53 pm
I loooove this. Reminds me of all the things I love about Draco and Ginny. And I know I said this in my review on FFN, but so much HIMYM in the way Draco uses Ginny to scare off his clingy paramours. I don't know if it was intentional or not, but it was a nice excuse for Draco to be so determined for Ginny to be his roommate. Loved how they gradually grew closer together, first as roommates and friends. That's exactly what I like to read in my DG. n_n Anyway, loved the story!

Author's Response: Thank you, thank you. Draco is a bit like Barney in this, isn't he? I'd have to say that Ginny's more like Robin than Lily. ;P The best stories are where they start as enemies, then acquaintances, then friends, then lovers, but only so much I can do in a one-shot. ;P
Name: bigreader reviewed Flatmates on Jul 29, 2014 08:13 am
Very fun story. I loved how every thing built up perfect. And the scene with drunk Draco was positively steamy!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Drunk Draco is always a fun and sexy Draco... as long as he's not vomiting. ;P
Name: Anise reviewed Flatmates on Jul 28, 2014 06:36 am
There will be an actual review very very soon! :)
You must login (register) to review.