Name: imelda reviewed Single on Jul 15, 2005 10:01 am
Oops. In that review I wrote--I said 'pretty much everything I don't mention, I disagree with.' I mean, of course, that I AGREE.
Name: Morikumo reviewed Single on Jul 12, 2005 05:09 am
Wow. You've pretty much taken all suspicions/desperate hopes I've been facing in the past few months about Draco and his connection to the HBP, and solidified it into an actual, concrete study of the evidence thus mentioned in canon. And you made D/G seem not as far out of reach. I commend you. Kudos. ^__^ Dang, girl. I'm glad you've got a good analytical mind...I would never have looked to the albino ferret incident much farther than an interesting plot point for possible Animagus-episodes, let alone gone into the depth of them and discover Da Vinci's use of them and the white ferret's history. Claps for you...awesome essay. ^-^
Name: Rose reviewed Single on Jul 11, 2005 02:06 am
Wow, that was really something. Probably the best essay about things to come that I've ever read. Each idea was really well explained and I was especially interested in Ron's predictions. I'd never even considered that to be a possiblity, but now I do! And just for the record, I will bash my head on the floor if anything happens between Harry and Ginny. Argh.
Name: The Penumbra reviewed Single on Jul 09, 2005 11:49 pm
I'm really impressed; it's good to read an essay like this that puts forward theories and sustains them with evidence. Quite frankly, much as I hope Draco will be the HBP, I don't think it will happen - JK Rowling likes to surprise people and I think she'll go for a character we haven't seen much of, like Theodore Nott. The Malfoys are probably instrumental in the plot though. (Mind you, I still keep my fingers crossed for it to be Draco) I found interesting your theories on why Ron has the gift of prophecy - I never even saw all those links; still i think that you did over analyse a bit. Yet, you hit on some other things that have been bothering me for a while - such as why Draco remained at school at Christmas time in CoS, and if Snape wanted to find out if Harry was a Parseltongue in D-H duel. About Draco/Ginny, who knows? Guinivere - married to king Arthur, but loves Lancelot. just a thought...It would be interesting to compare your points with what actually happens... Great job with this essay though!!! :) Sorry for this being so long!
Name: nightbluesprite reviewed Single on Jul 09, 2005 10:51 pm
Good points, especially how Draco loses everything so therefore might not be a pureblood. Excellent reasoning!
Name: Pat reviewed Single on Jul 09, 2005 07:51 pm
This essay is going to have me thinking all night - great job! In regards to the Malfoys not being related to anyone else in the books, though - the Black family tree has Lucius and Narcissa linked by a "double line of gold embroidery". In genealogies, a double line indicates a marriage between relatives. So if the Malfoys aren't purebloods, they've been hiding it well enough to fool the Blacks at least twice.
Name: Selina Kyle reviewed Single on Jul 08, 2005 11:45 am
Excellent job, and your Da Vinci reference is absolutely intriguing. This essay has just made me even more excited about HBP.
Name: imelda reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 07:00 pm
Boy am I angry!! A good chunk of my review got cut off. Grrr. In any case, I don't remember anything that I wrote, but I did mention http://www.livejournal.com/users/imelda72/ for a bit more. That's all.
Name: imelda reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 06:42 pm
Hello! Well, for a long essay you get a long review. Unfortunately, I disagree with a lot of what you say, and since I'm usually so fawning in reviews I give you, I'm taking the liberty of being a bit blunt here. So here goes: Either I'm being dense (and I don't think so, because I got a lot of sleep last night), or your argument doesn't make a lot of sense. The one thing that I really don't see is the Tom/Draco twin thing. I was very surprised to hear that Tom stands for 'twin,' but of course I immediately thought of Harry--and if JKR intended that meaning to be relevant, she of course was thinking of Harry, too. They look alike, grew up alike, share wand cores...you know the deal. I don't even see the Draco connection. Your point about Draco and royalty is very well taken, as is the point about the vagueness behind the Malfoy heritage. I greatly look forward to those points mattering in the upcoming books. On another note...WOW. I love all the prophetic-Ron points, and I can't believe how I missed half of them. Loved it. Tom Riddle murdering Myrtle!! (*smacking myself in the head*) Ron can be rather wise at times (*and now I'm
Name: christina reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 04:24 pm
your essay was very well-written, but it's not possible for Draco to be the HBP. He is really pure-blood. In OoTP, it states so when Sirius and Harry are looking at the pure-blood connections, and Sirius was related to the Malfoys. (yes it even said Draco.)
Name: Sheila reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 09:36 am
This is very well-thought out. It's always nice to see someone analyze a story from a literary perspective, and not only from a plot-based analysis. I do have a minor question: how do you know where the MAlfoy house is located?
Name: Anonymous reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 04:32 am
As Draco enthusiasts, I think that we work overtime to give our characters prominence that might be colored by our personal bias. Draco, like his father is a characterized as petty, mean-spirited and following in the evil footsteps of his father by Rowlings.His role in the books is to resonate as a foil against Harry's innate morality. Sirus's family tapestry showed Draco's parentage. He is pureblood. This is canon. I don't believe in his redemption or that his role in canon will be that significant except to be a thorn in Harry side and a deatheater like his father. I love fandom's Draco in all of his glorious sexiness and snarkiness, but that Draco is not the Draco of canon.
Name: nucking_futs reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 07:48 pm
This is very good. I've been thinking of these same issues before I read your essay while I've been writing my fic "Stripped." I don't want to say more because it would be spoilerish but I've always wondered about the Malfoys. I agree that there will be D/G interaction. Ginny is the seventh child and only daughter of a family and I don't remember the exact quote since its nearly 2 am but the seventh child is supposed to be powerful. I don't see D/G every being a happy fluffy ship but I expect to see lots of intereaction in HBP. Btw... what is your lj name? I'd like to discuss this subject with you further.
Name: aznblubeary reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 07:47 pm
i can honestly say that i was skeptical, however, i would hope that it turns out true. for the most part it was a well written and thought-out essay. But i do have a few questions that i wished you could clarify. 1) I'm a bit rusty when it comes to book two... when does draco get a hold of the journal? 2) I was a bit confused about which cover of the HBP you were talking about... i've seen the cover of UK, UK adult, US and US Deluxe and i even went and checked at mugglenet yet i don't know what you are talking about.... could you get back to me on this? my email is aznblubeary@gmail.com thanks
Name: Bethie reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 07:13 pm
I'm not sure if anyone else has seen this or not, and it's no more or less of a guarantee than many other points raised in your essay, but....
According to JKR, this is a chapter title from HBP: "Draco's Detour"
Name: Molly reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 03:00 pm
Brilliant. Nicely done. My very first instinct after putting down a completed OotP was that Draco would be the most likely candidate for the HBP (I'll admit I am slightly biased, though, and have been hoping for a deeper look into Draco's character). Everyone keeps telling me how crazy I am to think such a thing, but I stick to my guns. I'll continue to stick to 'em, especially after reading this. I feel slightly vindicated that someone else thinks like I do. :) I admire all the hard work that went into writing all this down. Very well researched and wonderfully crafted together. Kudos... many many kudos!!
Name: bitteliten reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 12:15 pm
Nice essay - I'm very impressed. It made me even more curious and eager for the HBP to come out. One comment: On her homepage, JKR mentions in the comment about the cut Draco/Nott scene from CoS/GoF that "Theodore is just as pure-blooded as (Draco) is, and somewhat cleverer." It might not mean anything. She might be talking from Draco's point of view at the time, she might be talking from her point of view. Again: *thumbs up*
Name: Sue Bridehead reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 09:42 am
Well researched and nicely executed - as always, Anise! You've given this a lot of thought. The divination abilities of Ron have been more than hinted at, haven't they? ;) But I always thought it was his abilities as a strategist - he just figures things out before the rest of us do. *shrugs* (That's how it played out in my fic anyway...!) As for JKR saying now that the Malfoys not purebloods, that would be just the kind of twist she likes to throw our way. It could be why they're always so keen on proving themselves, because they're *not* what they pretend to be. And on that vein (and forgive me if this has already been said), that would make Draco even *more* like Tom Riddle: heís not a pureblood, yet he acts like those that arenít, are beneath him. Thanks for writing a good essay! :)
Name: kannnichtfranzoesisch reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 03:43 am
You know, I never wanted to poke around canon at all until I read TBBC. :) I've never read any of the canon books more than once, and I didn't even read CoS in English. You're the first person who has made me want to read them again. I'd totally forgotten that Draco didn't go home for Christmas 2nd year. That is strange, isn't it? You make very good points, but man is it going to be a shock to the system if Draco is not a pureblood. That probably only makes it more likely, though. :) Even if I do harbor as many veela!Draco fantasies as anyone else, I think I'd just as soon he were pureblooded. It's better proof that blood means nothing (since Harry always beats him.) Or something. I could definitely see Voldemort wanting or choosing a Harry-aged "anointed one", and Draco would be the most likely candidate for that. But if it wasn't Draco, then that would leave Draco with quite a choice, wouldn't it? Given the cut Draco/Nott conversation, I might wonder if Nott could be important, but wouldn't that revelation be a little too obvious then? I agree that all signs point to Draco being more involved in book 6, and I'm looking forward to it! I think you should do a recap after HBP of how many of your points were substantiated. :)
Name: Tryphe reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 09:10 pm
Wow. This essay is the most convincing one regarding who the HBP is that I've read yet. That may be due to how selective I am with my reading material, but you did bring up a great many good points. And I really, really hope you're right. Tryphe
Name: Pahi reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 06:48 pm
I admit, when I first started reading, I was expecting to remain totally unconvinced and ready to dimiss everything that followed the first few assertions. But you've made a fairly strong case, and I'm eager to see how the book measures up to your argument.
Name: Cap reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 04:11 pm
Like your thinking. There's something else that really got me believing that there is potential for Draco and Ginny in the Canon. Two things actually. 1)Ginevra is Italian for Guenneviere. We all know she becomes attached to the dark haired main hero, but falls in love the blonde with the questionable past when that hero doesn't pay her enough attention. 2) Rowling once said that no one was with or showing interest in the right person during Goblet of Fire. Here are the ball couples that she mentioned. Hermion and Krum Harry and Patil Ron and Patil Ginny and Neville!!!! Draco and Pansy!!!!! That she's said that certainly indicates that she's got someone in mind for Draco and someone in mind for Ginny. Now for the real excitement, Rowling has also said that Draco will never be with Hermione. I see the field narrowing down very dramatically when I think of all the characters. It could be Luna, Ginny, or someone new. But, my heart says Draco isn't going to turn out all evil (that would be way too sad and disappointing because he would probably have to die in order to wrap up Voldemort's second attempt at controling the wizard world). Who can draw him into Harry's world? I say, Ginny.
Name: Alexandria Malfoy reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 04:02 pm
Now that was an essay. I already had my speculations about Draco being the HBP, since I figured that the obvious choices (Harry and Tom) were just out of the question. This essay just supported them even more. You give so many clues and evidence to Draco's role in HBP. I have to agree in that Draco will eventually have a major role to play. You just can't create such a strong character with so little background information. Same with Ginny. I believe that book 6 will be an emergence of sorts as to who Draco really is. Also with the whole "Draco's Detour" chapter in HBP. Although I feel that some may be overanalizing this (after all, it could just be the name of a chapter where something fairly amuzing happens to him), it doesn't mean that it shouldn't be accounted for. As for the "pureblooded familes dying out issue", I think that this might be the case with the Malfoys. If you read the scene in which Sirius explains the family tree to Harry, you know that Draco and Narcissa are Sirius's cousins, but what of Lucius? His part of the tree is not included (nor should it be included), so how do we know if the Malfoys are as pureblooded as they make themselves out to be. I know it sounds a bit ridiculous as I'm chalkful o' conspiracy theories here, but your essay just gave mounds of plausible evidence to Draco as the HBP and the possiblity of D/G (I also have to agree that if there will be D/G, it will not be the fluffy D/G that most shippers are hoping for). And that fact that I ADORE the DaVinci Code and have researched into all of Dan Brown's accusations just as much as the next, convinced me of your daVinci link just that much more. Overall, excellent job! You made me even more of a believer! xoxox
Name: Anon reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 03:51 pm
Honestly, you don't make a bit of sense.
Name: Eldarwen reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 02:55 pm
You have come up with a lot of good points in this essay and I found it really interesting. I like how you could back up everything you wrote and its gotten me thinking about it.
You must login (register) to review.