Name: kannnichtfranzoesisch reviewed Single on Jul 08, 2005 10:24 am
Oh, I can so definitely see Lucius becoming the MoM. Even before I read the conspiracy theory. Another thing I heard which makes me think JKR wouldn't be adverse to using early Christian history (from someone who was quite convinced that Harry will have to sacrifice his life for the cause) was a JKR quote that if people knew about her religious beliefs then they'd be able to predict things. Or something like that. Let me hunt and see if I can find an official quote... yes! http://www.quick-quote-quill.org/articles/2000/1000-vancouversun-wyman.htm -- Is she a Christian? ''Yes, I am,'' she says. ''Which seems to offend the religious right far worse than if I said I thought there was no God. Every time I've been asked if I believe in God, I've said yes, because I do, but no one ever really has gone any more deeply into it than that, and I have to say that does suit me, because if I talk too freely about that I think the intelligent reader, whether 10 or 60, will be able to guess what's coming in the books.'' -- So I don't know, make of it what you will. But I think if Lucius does become minister, the 1-900 hotline might have to go to 1eyedjack (see their LJ for their fic, it's great, though not D/G.) Looking forward to part 3!
Name: Erised reviewed Single on Jul 08, 2005 06:46 am
That parody is hilarious! Lots of interesting points, such as all the small slipped in details, of which there is such a great quantity that for them all to turn out to mean nothing is highly unlikely. I found this chapter more convincing than the last, perhaps because you had already begun to lead me down the path of believing. Oh, I'm just itching for the next book to come out!
Name: Jez reviewed Single on Jul 08, 2005 06:37 am
Ooooh. That final part was just... delicious. I love the theory of the HBP. It's given me hope that maybe JK hasn't given up hope on Draco after all, like I'd first thought. Reading this has made me really pumped for the coming of the book in 7 days time. *Jez
Name: akaSailor Mars reviewed Single on Jul 08, 2005 06:35 am
Ooh! Very nice addition! I especially loved the scene at the end. *snicker* Anyway, for your theory on the Malfoy's and their lineage: The first(I think) sorting hat song says that Slytherins, "Will use any means to achieve their ends." Well, if Lucius Malfoy is powerhungry (*snort* IF?), then it would make perfect sense for him to fake his lineage, especially since "mugglelovers" and "mudbloods" don't get very far in the world. (OotP: Molly says that the reason Arthur is stuck in the Misuse of Muggle Artifacts office is because Fudge (as a pureblood) frowns upon his muggle fasination.) I always wonder when the Sorting Hat's songs will be used. On the other hand...OotP: "Her (Andromeda) sisters made respectable pure blood mariages." It's really hard to tell which passages should be taken with a grain of salt, and which shouldn't. I also wonder how much we overanalyze what JKR says. And perhaps we haven't at all. I think it will be very interesting to see which rumors are debunked in book 6 and which aren't. Also, there are three chapter titles. The one you missed is Chapter Fourteen Felix Felicis. I think that is who the paragraph describes. The person is described like a lion, and Felix Felicis sounds like "feline". Whether he's the HBP or the DADA teacher, I do not know. I have a feeling it's the later, though. I really enjoyed reading it, and I'm looking forward to Chapter 3!
Name: Sarah reviewed Single on Jul 08, 2005 06:14 am
Yeah, hi! Lovely theory, creamtea! I would love to hear all of your theories relating to HBP. Anyway, lovely essay, Anise. I died after reading "Chapter 10." We wish! I found that Cornelius-Lucius Pope thingy extremely interesting, but imelda could be right and it could just be a red herring. There's a lot of possibilities with Lucius as the MoM, but there's infinitely more possibilities with him NOT the MoM. Mainly, I want to see Draco develop as a character more. I wouldn't mind seeing him go to the Dark Side (haha), as long as he gains more depth. Lucius is so cool and collected in the DoM, and Draco really isn't known for being cool and collected. He's certainly got a temper on him. I would love it if Draco took a more mature turn, rather it be for good or for bad. He's brinking on maturity, as are the Trio, and so he's surely going to show some signs of that right? I mean, his dad's in Azkaban, that's GOT to be hard on a kid, even one like Draco. Right...so...those were kind of random thoughts, but I dunno, maybe someone else sees it the same way. Thanks for this amazing essay (again) and I can't wait for HBP OR the third chapter of this. -Darko from F&I
Name: creamtea reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 09:41 pm
Thanks for the mention Anise. I've got a comment on the D/G relationship which I see slightly more optimistically than you do (but then hey, I would). I think it may not be based on a bedrock of darkness. There isn't much D/G interaction in canon, but what there is I see as follows: Flourish and Blotts - Draco spots Ginny's emotional state straight off, he is the first - the only - person who sees that Ginny has a crush on Harry. And he sees it instantly. Unlike even members of her own family, Draco is attuned to Ginny. Next up: The Valentine card. Yep, we can see the whole instance as about Draco and the diary, but I see something else (as well?) - Draco is showing off in that corridor, slamming on Harry, giving Percy (the Head Boy!) the run around. Why? I think it's because, whether he knows it or not, he's trying to impress Ginny whom he would know was there because her hair is described as flaming - a beacon - he knows she's there and he's showing off to her. Note he becomes furious when Harry gets the diary off him - furious because Harry showed him up in front of Ginny, whom he then blasts with real wrath. He's jealous of her crush on Harry and angry that his plan to impress Ginny that he could beat Harry backfired on him. Okay so IMO Draco's interested - well, a lot of us think that, but why do I think it may not be dark? - tiny pieces of foreshadowing in OoTP. James/Lily: 'Ahh, don't make me hex you Evans'. We know perfectly well James is mad about Lily, and perfectly well that he would NEVER have hexed her. Next: during the DA practice we're told that Ginny is winning against Michael Corner either because she's very good, or because he he can't bring himself to hex her. Well, the way that's written it reeks of foreshadowing that MC had a secret crush on Ginny (as James had his crush on Lily), but that's nonsense, because everyone knows MC and G are already going out, so there's nothing secret about it. So, if it's foreshadowing of a secret crush a boy has on Ginny, a boy who can't bring himself to go flat out against her in a hex shoot-out because he has a crush on her and doesn't want to hurt her - then who the hell is the crusher? I think it's Draco. Why? Because the VERY NEXT boy we hear of 'fighting' with Ginny is Draco. After the MC/secret crush foreshadowing we get nothing at all on Ginny in hex-combat with anyone, not even a mention in any DA practice - the next one up is Draco in Umbridge's office. And what happens? - Ginny 'wins'. Now Ginny beating Draco for me is utterly stupid, he's a boy steeped in dark magic, in jinx throwing, he whacks Harry in the CoS duel with a hex that a DE threw in the DoM, Draco has some serious mojo when it comes to hexing - but Ginny wins? We know she's not that good - in DoM she goes down early - but she beat Draco in a gunslinging match? Uh? Am I the only one who thinks that's fishy? IMO she won because Draco was pulling his punches: 'Ahhh, don't make me hex you Weasley'. For me, given canon Draco,(who in canon is not the ineffectual wimp a lot of Draco haters are determined to see him as) a rational explanation as to why Ginny beats Draco is because Draco isn't trying to beat Ginny. He fancies her. When it gets to it - he can't bring himself to go flat out and hex her to oblivion. So - Dark Draco and Dark Ginny? I don't necessarily see it as I don't necessarily see the 'revenge' motive from Draco. If he let her win (with all the reasons why) he's not looking for revenge. He may want to play at being vengeful in order to force a connection between them, but his heart definitely won't be in it. Happy trails Draco fans!
Name: sweetproserpina reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 07:49 pm
Great point about Draco's Birthday! I never thought about it, but Draco will turn seventeen right near the end of HBP, becoming "of age" as a wizard! Will he inherit certain property? Will he finally be free from his dad? You've given us lots to chew on! cheers, -sweetp
Name: imelda reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 07:00 pm
Boy am I angry!! A good chunk of my review got cut off. Grrr. In any case, I don't remember anything that I wrote, but I did mention http://www.livejournal.com/users/imelda72/ for a bit more. That's all.
Name: imelda reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 06:58 pm
Please keep in mind that everything I don't mention, I pretty much disagree with. I just like being argumentative (how else can we have good debates?). So: firstly, 'Alas, no.' I firmly believe that indicates no more than the fact that Arthur deserves to be recognized, and I have always felt (hoped) that the Lucius-Cornelius tie in was a red herring. If I am wrong, you may throw this in my face. And I admit here and now that my predictions for OotP were almost 100% wrong. 2) Wiarding law decreeing that property be passed only through male heirs? Sacrilege!! I refuse to believe JKR would ever do anything like that to us. 3) As I mentioned in chapter 1 review, does JKR really repeat plot? She repeats plot devices, certainly, and themes, of course, but actual plot/plot twists? I don't think so. 4) Forgot to mention this in chapter 1: Yeah, the whole Ginny-being-possessed thing is WAY unresolved. It drives me mad thinking of all the different ways we've explored this plotline that is simply RIFE with possibilities and yet, save one line in book 5, has been entirely ignored by JKR. What's going on there???? She'd better do something about it. 5) The Ron-weasel-yellow rat thing myth is a hoax? Is that right?????? (I hope so) That's all from this neck of the woods.
Name: Jazzy reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 06:50 pm
I'd like to point out continued support (which you most likely noticed, just chose not to include) during the scene with the Black Family tree. "A double line of gold embroidery linked Narcissa Black with Lucius Malfoy, and a single vertical gold line from their names led to the name Draco." It was only stated that Narcissa was connected to Lucius Malfoy. It said nothing on his end. You had stated this already, but that quote's just a bit more added support. All in all, great job...you've got me considering this now...
Name: imelda reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 06:42 pm
Hello! Well, for a long essay you get a long review. Unfortunately, I disagree with a lot of what you say, and since I'm usually so fawning in reviews I give you, I'm taking the liberty of being a bit blunt here. So here goes: Either I'm being dense (and I don't think so, because I got a lot of sleep last night), or your argument doesn't make a lot of sense. The one thing that I really don't see is the Tom/Draco twin thing. I was very surprised to hear that Tom stands for 'twin,' but of course I immediately thought of Harry--and if JKR intended that meaning to be relevant, she of course was thinking of Harry, too. They look alike, grew up alike, share wand cores...you know the deal. I don't even see the Draco connection. Your point about Draco and royalty is very well taken, as is the point about the vagueness behind the Malfoy heritage. I greatly look forward to those points mattering in the upcoming books. On another note...WOW. I love all the prophetic-Ron points, and I can't believe how I missed half of them. Loved it. Tom Riddle murdering Myrtle!! (*smacking myself in the head*) Ron can be rather wise at times (*and now I'm
Name: Anise reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 06:23 pm
Oh yeah. One more thing. There's this quote about St. Lucius: St. Lucius continued the policy of Cornelius in admitting repentant apostates to communion after due penance. Just as Cornelius Fudge re-admitted former Death Eaters to the wizarding community, if they "did penance" by claiming they'd been under the Imperius curse and were forced to do all those awful things. And Lucius Malfoy as MoM, of course, would do the same thing.
Name: christina reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 04:24 pm
your essay was very well-written, but it's not possible for Draco to be the HBP. He is really pure-blood. In OoTP, it states so when Sirius and Harry are looking at the pure-blood connections, and Sirius was related to the Malfoys. (yes it even said Draco.)
Name: Sheila reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 09:36 am
This is very well-thought out. It's always nice to see someone analyze a story from a literary perspective, and not only from a plot-based analysis. I do have a minor question: how do you know where the MAlfoy house is located?
Name: Anonymous reviewed Single on Jul 07, 2005 04:32 am
As Draco enthusiasts, I think that we work overtime to give our characters prominence that might be colored by our personal bias. Draco, like his father is a characterized as petty, mean-spirited and following in the evil footsteps of his father by Rowlings.His role in the books is to resonate as a foil against Harry's innate morality. Sirus's family tapestry showed Draco's parentage. He is pureblood. This is canon. I don't believe in his redemption or that his role in canon will be that significant except to be a thorn in Harry side and a deatheater like his father. I love fandom's Draco in all of his glorious sexiness and snarkiness, but that Draco is not the Draco of canon.
Name: nucking_futs reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 07:48 pm
This is very good. I've been thinking of these same issues before I read your essay while I've been writing my fic "Stripped." I don't want to say more because it would be spoilerish but I've always wondered about the Malfoys. I agree that there will be D/G interaction. Ginny is the seventh child and only daughter of a family and I don't remember the exact quote since its nearly 2 am but the seventh child is supposed to be powerful. I don't see D/G every being a happy fluffy ship but I expect to see lots of intereaction in HBP. Btw... what is your lj name? I'd like to discuss this subject with you further.
Name: aznblubeary reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 07:47 pm
i can honestly say that i was skeptical, however, i would hope that it turns out true. for the most part it was a well written and thought-out essay. But i do have a few questions that i wished you could clarify. 1) I'm a bit rusty when it comes to book two... when does draco get a hold of the journal? 2) I was a bit confused about which cover of the HBP you were talking about... i've seen the cover of UK, UK adult, US and US Deluxe and i even went and checked at mugglenet yet i don't know what you are talking about.... could you get back to me on this? my email is aznblubeary@gmail.com thanks
Name: Bethie reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 07:13 pm
I'm not sure if anyone else has seen this or not, and it's no more or less of a guarantee than many other points raised in your essay, but....
According to JKR, this is a chapter title from HBP: "Draco's Detour"
Name: Molly reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 03:00 pm
Brilliant. Nicely done. My very first instinct after putting down a completed OotP was that Draco would be the most likely candidate for the HBP (I'll admit I am slightly biased, though, and have been hoping for a deeper look into Draco's character). Everyone keeps telling me how crazy I am to think such a thing, but I stick to my guns. I'll continue to stick to 'em, especially after reading this. I feel slightly vindicated that someone else thinks like I do. :) I admire all the hard work that went into writing all this down. Very well researched and wonderfully crafted together. Kudos... many many kudos!!
Name: bitteliten reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 12:15 pm
Nice essay - I'm very impressed. It made me even more curious and eager for the HBP to come out. One comment: On her homepage, JKR mentions in the comment about the cut Draco/Nott scene from CoS/GoF that "Theodore is just as pure-blooded as (Draco) is, and somewhat cleverer." It might not mean anything. She might be talking from Draco's point of view at the time, she might be talking from her point of view. Again: *thumbs up*
Name: Sue Bridehead reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 09:42 am
Well researched and nicely executed - as always, Anise! You've given this a lot of thought. The divination abilities of Ron have been more than hinted at, haven't they? ;) But I always thought it was his abilities as a strategist - he just figures things out before the rest of us do. *shrugs* (That's how it played out in my fic anyway...!) As for JKR saying now that the Malfoys not purebloods, that would be just the kind of twist she likes to throw our way. It could be why they're always so keen on proving themselves, because they're *not* what they pretend to be. And on that vein (and forgive me if this has already been said), that would make Draco even *more* like Tom Riddle: heís not a pureblood, yet he acts like those that arenít, are beneath him. Thanks for writing a good essay! :)
Name: kannnichtfranzoesisch reviewed Single on Jul 06, 2005 03:43 am
You know, I never wanted to poke around canon at all until I read TBBC. :) I've never read any of the canon books more than once, and I didn't even read CoS in English. You're the first person who has made me want to read them again. I'd totally forgotten that Draco didn't go home for Christmas 2nd year. That is strange, isn't it? You make very good points, but man is it going to be a shock to the system if Draco is not a pureblood. That probably only makes it more likely, though. :) Even if I do harbor as many veela!Draco fantasies as anyone else, I think I'd just as soon he were pureblooded. It's better proof that blood means nothing (since Harry always beats him.) Or something. I could definitely see Voldemort wanting or choosing a Harry-aged "anointed one", and Draco would be the most likely candidate for that. But if it wasn't Draco, then that would leave Draco with quite a choice, wouldn't it? Given the cut Draco/Nott conversation, I might wonder if Nott could be important, but wouldn't that revelation be a little too obvious then? I agree that all signs point to Draco being more involved in book 6, and I'm looking forward to it! I think you should do a recap after HBP of how many of your points were substantiated. :)
Name: Tryphe reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 09:10 pm
Wow. This essay is the most convincing one regarding who the HBP is that I've read yet. That may be due to how selective I am with my reading material, but you did bring up a great many good points. And I really, really hope you're right. Tryphe
Name: Pahi reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 06:48 pm
I admit, when I first started reading, I was expecting to remain totally unconvinced and ready to dimiss everything that followed the first few assertions. But you've made a fairly strong case, and I'm eager to see how the book measures up to your argument.
Name: Cap reviewed Single on Jul 05, 2005 04:11 pm
Like your thinking. There's something else that really got me believing that there is potential for Draco and Ginny in the Canon. Two things actually. 1)Ginevra is Italian for Guenneviere. We all know she becomes attached to the dark haired main hero, but falls in love the blonde with the questionable past when that hero doesn't pay her enough attention. 2) Rowling once said that no one was with or showing interest in the right person during Goblet of Fire. Here are the ball couples that she mentioned. Hermion and Krum Harry and Patil Ron and Patil Ginny and Neville!!!! Draco and Pansy!!!!! That she's said that certainly indicates that she's got someone in mind for Draco and someone in mind for Ginny. Now for the real excitement, Rowling has also said that Draco will never be with Hermione. I see the field narrowing down very dramatically when I think of all the characters. It could be Luna, Ginny, or someone new. But, my heart says Draco isn't going to turn out all evil (that would be way too sad and disappointing because he would probably have to die in order to wrap up Voldemort's second attempt at controling the wizard world). Who can draw him into Harry's world? I say, Ginny.
You must login (register) to review.