Reviews For In Vino Veritas
Name: shadieladie reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 12:49 pm
wow that a lot of info... you know your stuff!!

Author's Response: I know a fair amount, but I also am fairly handy with Google... Thanks for reading.
Name: smprsgrrl reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 11:50 am
I think I may e-mail you the next time I need to decide what wine to have with dinner. :)

Author's Response: Hee hee. If you do, I'll certainly give you an opinion. It might not be a good one, but I guess you'll have to take your chances! :)
Name: moerae reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 10:06 am
the plot is thickening, or should I say the wine is brewing (is that even right? does wine brew?) lol...I liked this chapter - Draco's flabbergastation is fabulous

Author's Response: Wine doesn't brew--it ferments. And it is funny that you should ask about that because the next chapter title is "Fermentation." I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter, and I had fun writing Draco's shock. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: adorame reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 08:37 am
wow I love wine! and it's nice to learn a thing or to reading your story! Have you had Ice wine before? The Trockenbeenauslese reminded me a bit of it, but the grape is frozen on the vine. It is a sweet desert wine. Canada has some good ones. Can't wait till your next update.

Author's Response: Yes, I have had ice wine, including some from Canada. Trockenbeerenauslesen can sometimes be an ice wine, I think, though usually it is infected with Botrytis so they don't have to leave the grapes on the vines that long. I'm glad you are enjoying the story (and learning something along the way). Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: imelda reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 08:34 am
Yay! The first real D-G interaction of the fic was really, really good. I thought they moved naturally from hostility to camaraderie. Their reactions to Amber's wine choice were very telling.

I'm really looking forward to the next chapter! Though the fic is a bit heavy on the wine-talk (this chapter in particular, of course), I guess that's your thing; and it does, after all, set it apart from the rest of the fics here.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you found the D-G interaction to be realistic. And this chapter is probably has the most technical wine talk of the whole story, so hopefully you won't feel too weighed down for long. Thanks for reading and for the reviews.
Name: imelda reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 28, 2006 08:20 am
I'm really enjoying this fic--so far it's been just a lot of fun. I also think it's pretty clever (if chauvinistic) the way Draco classifies the women as wine. The mini wine lessons at the end of each chapter are interesting, too.

My favorite line, by far, from this whole fic was "I was! I just got distracted by Weasley's hair!" Haha. Way to be smooth there, Draco.

The only critique I have is that he seems to be falling pretty quickly with Ginny, without any real indication of why or where his attraction lies. But then, I guess he probably doesn't know himself.

Well, on to the next chapter!

Author's Response: Poor Draco is in denial, and I'm afraid it will take him a while to sort out exactly what he feels about Ginny. Hopefully his attraction will become cleared to you as it becomes clearer to him. If not, please let me know!
Name: Myanceris reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 08:06 am
Ha ha ha - Nice twist with Ginny being the Sommelier! But all this wine talk is frying my brain! Call me a philistine if you like but I'm a Vodka girl myself! Ha ha ha When are we going to get on to the amusing D/G banter and the inevitable dinner date in which they aregue good naturedly about wine all the way through then shag like porn stars?
By the way, I am really liking Draco's characterisation - you've done a lovely job with his internalisations and the narrative is spot on. Great work.

Author's Response: Vodka certainly has its place. And I also am rather fond of beer. But I don't think I could write a whole story centered around either one of them. :) But anyway, I am glad that you are enjoying the story. I tend to feel insecure about characterizations, so it is nice to know that you think Draco's is working. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: Glass_Mermaid reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 07:56 am
Great fun! I hope to see more soon!

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far. I will post the next chapter as soon as I can, but it may be several days. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: starry_laa reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 07:05 am
I'm feeling very smart having read the two updates! And there I was thinking that wine was just a simple alcoholic beverage. Boy, was I wrong!
It's nice seeing Draco and Ginny "bond" over wine, and think about it, it's quite funny. Ginny a sommelier (sp?)... Draco and Ginny having an obsession in wine... Draco comparing women to wine..It makes me giggle- in a good way of course!

Author's Response: I'm glad that the story makes you giggle, and is making you feel smarter too. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: dramaqueen872005 reviewed III. First Crush on Apr 28, 2006 04:16 am
LOL I love this. Draco and Ginny are so made for each other. Loved their twin expressions of horror at the wine selection. More soon! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that bit--they need to find *something* to bond over. :) Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: distempered reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 24, 2006 02:14 pm
Another good chapter. I like the way you are entertwining the elements. I also enjoy the subtle dance that goes on between Draco and Ginny, instead of flat out saying that they're attracted to one another. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Heh. Well, Draco hasn't quite figured out yet that he's attracted to Ginny, so that's a big part of it. I'm glad you are still enjoying the story. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: missa reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 24, 2006 01:42 pm
very nice. i like where you are taking this. good on you having ginny know wines... i hate it when men pretend to know everything about anything!

Author's Response: Yes, well, Draco is in for some surprises in the next chapter. I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far. Thanks for reading and for the review!
Name: lina reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 24, 2006 06:47 am
ah tannin...good for getting the synapses all fired up...loved the chapter. I like the level of detail, particularly.

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying the story. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: smprsgrrl reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 11:46 pm
Methinks Draco needs to examine why he's watching her so closely. I don't think it's about her hair either.

Author's Response: Heh heh. It's definitely not about her hair. But Draco is stubborn and not prone to self-examination so it may be a while before he thinks too hard about it. Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: maple_charms reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 11:00 pm
wow! update soon, this is one of my faves!

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying it. Hopefully it won't take me too long to update. Thanks for the review.
Name: fallenwitch reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 06:42 pm
Enjoyed this chapter! Loved watching Draco scamper all over the place in empty pursuit of Ginny, who has him out-classed, out-paced, and out-tasted the entire evening. Looking forward to more, as usual.

On more of a confessional note, my father is an enologist. I grew up with all things wine. I don't drink wine. I don't like wine. I tried to get the wine rack taken out of my kitchen. However, I love my father and am quite enamored with this fic as well! I hope you don't mind a sloucher like myself coming along for the ride.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you are enjoying the story, even if you don't enjoy wine! I hoped to make the story accessible to people who don't drink, so it is nice to see that I have succeeded at least for you. And there is more of Draco being outclassed still to come! Thanks for reading and for the review.
Name: Ada Achlys reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 04:15 pm
Another great chapter! I love that Ginny is a wine expert -- I hope she puts Draco in his place at least once in this story. The Rioja sounds rather nice, though I generally avoid reds -- can you suggest anything specific?

Author's Response: Shh! Ginny's career isn't supposed to come out until the next chapter! Though I guess I wasn't *that* subtle with the hints. As far as Rioja goes, the most common is Marquis de Caceres (though I may have spelled that wrong). It comes in a bottle with a maroon and gold label. It is pretty consistently decent. In general, anything labeled "Crianza" tends to be a little smoother, which might help if you aren't used to red wines, though they might be a little more expensive. If you do try one, let me know what you think. And thanks for reading and reviewing!
Name: Mynuet reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 01:15 pm
Poor Draco. Drunk and he doesn't even know it yet.

Author's Response: Yes, yes, he is. And unfortunately it is going to take him quite a while (and quite a bit of wine) to come to his senses.
Name: Phaedra7veils reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 12:46 pm
I love the wine-tasting commentary almost as much as the story. Did you choose the name St. Julian Emiliani for the orphanage because of the St. Emillion region by any chance?

Author's Response: I'm glad you are enjoying both the story and the commentary. I did worry that people might not want to be educated along with their D/G fix. I chose St. Jerome Emiliani because he is the patron saint of orphans, according to several pages on the web. The similarity to St. Emillion was just a bonus!
Name: moerae reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 12:45 pm
I love your story and the idea! It is both enlightening and entertaining! I especially love your tasting notes, and I am sure it would be lot more enjoyable if I had experienced some of the wines you are talking about! Great job!

Author's Response: I'm glad that you are enjoying both the story and the notes. I was a little concerned that people would be turned off by them. And I have to admit that there are some wines I mention in the story that *I* haven't experienced, either. I unfortunately don't have Draco's bank account. Thanks for the review.
Name: Adelagia reviewed II. Yeast on Apr 23, 2006 11:50 am
You know I love reading your stuff, and this one's a read that's both fun and educational! I'm very excited to read more.

Author's Response: Well, I am a teacher first and foremost, though I usually hold back my urges to make fanfic educational. :) I'm glad you are enjoying the story so far. Thanks for the review.
Name: distempered reviewed I. Variety on Apr 22, 2006 05:17 pm
A very interesting beginning. I was so looking forward to seeing another chapter fic from you because I think your writing is fabulous, and I can already tell that this is going to be a great story.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the story so far, and I hope it won't disappoint. Thanks for the review.
Name: cornishpixie reviewed I. Variety on Apr 20, 2006 07:13 am
Interesting story. I like the way you have depicted Draco it is perfect. I hope you keep Ginny as "spicy" as she really is and let Draco see the many sides of the girl. I will wait patiently for the next installment.

Author's Response: Don't worry--Draco still has lots to learn about Ginny. Thanks for the review.
Name: Jewels reviewed I. Variety on Apr 20, 2006 05:56 am
What a brilliant idea! I love the way Draco compares women to wine, because it really adds to their character without having to describe them too much. This story is written wonderfully and i cant wait to see how it turns out. I also love your take on ginny and the way she was difficult to place. Rich ginny? Oh i DO hope so! Malfoy's insults would be pretty crap after that :D Another great thing about wine is that even when you've never tasted it you can kind of tell what its like from the name...

Author's Response: I'm glad that you are enjoying the wine references so far. I had fun writing the descriptions. Thanks for the review.
Name: Sophinna reviewed I. Variety on Apr 20, 2006 12:14 am
Hehe, fantastic. Beautifully written, it captured the mood and the characters perfectly and I really and truly loved the references to wine.

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the references to wine because there are many more to come. Thanks for the reiview.
You must login (register) to review.