Reviews For Exquisite Irony
Name: linarobert698 reviewed Is this how it ends? on Nov 13, 2022 04:35 am
I like what you put in here. couvreur toiture
Name: lincolnfabel8412 reviewed Is this how it ends? on Oct 09, 2022 05:11 am
We across a blog everyday. service entretien arbres
Name: efournier909 reviewed Is this how it ends? on Sep 21, 2022 03:56 pm
It's hard to make a good post.

Toiture Drummondville
Name: sweet gurl reviewed Painful Truths on Sep 18, 2022 06:24 pm
There’s no way!

NO WAY

I couldn’t believe my eyes and it took me a hot minute of quadruple checking that it wasn’t a bug and it WAS a new update and then I just stared at the title open mouthed!

I can’t believe it.

I dove right in… no need to re read. This is the story I come to read every few weeks when I’m having trouble sleeping or when I simply want some comfort favourite.

I even wrote about it in 2013 in my last review 😂 I found this story in my late teens (I remember downloading it to read on a road trip with my family) and I just turned 30 last month.

And that’s what I was doing just now at 2 am.. I have a head cold and the meds made me sleep all of Sunday and I can’t sleep now so I opened my ol’ trusty

And there it was!

Glad to have an update

And it was exactly what I wanted.

It had the perfect tone. An urgency and heartbreak from Draco and a barely concealed justify anger mixed with confusion but with the resignation only a mother has from Ginny

The characterization was fantastic.

Both of them had land to stand on the hill but both of them had low points.

My favourite part was when he asked if she ever wanted him cause you could feel how sad it was for him to know that his wife didn’t. And on the other side of the coin Ginny taking the horse by the reins and being truthful despite her own heartbreak.


Very well done.

Please please please.. I would love more of this.

I love where you are going with it and with this chapter I can see the maturity of the writing.

Author's Response: I love hearing from my readers, and to know one of my stories is a favourite of someone all these years later really makes me smile. When I started writing this fic I was in my late teens. It didn't get posted here until some years later (it was on ff.net for a while until they had the smit purges). I am now nearly 40 and I still return to some of these stories and update a bit here or there. I am currently halfway through a new chapter of Honour Bound. Some fics will never be updated because of the ages of the characters in the fic (ODG and IC) but I still write. I actually have 2 other fics never published sitting in a folder. I am aiming to make them one-shots and want to post them as completed works. I'm not sure when the next ExIr chapter will come to me. I have ideas for the layout of the rest of it, but have less time to write than I used to. I get real joy from reviews as it's wonderful to know people still love my writing.
Name: loveisnowhere reviewed Painful Truths on Jul 20, 2022 05:11 pm
wooooow. what a surprise to randomly checking this site and seeing this fic was updated. I enjoyed the update, I find it pretty amazing that you decided to continue this fic.
Name: janelove reviewed Painful Truths on Jul 08, 2022 06:28 pm
I can’t believe this was updated! So cool to see it being continued, I read this when I was in high school. Hope you keep it going! Too many good Draco and Ginny stories unfinished.
Name: Anise reviewed Painful Truths on Jul 06, 2022 11:49 am
Wow, thanks for posting this! :) I'll r and r later, but I wanted to make sure that you know this latest update of a classic fic is much appreciated. I'll have to download the whole thing and listen to it on @voice. The British male voice sounds EXACTLY like Draco.... ;)
Name: pinkgenie reviewed Painful Truths on Jul 05, 2022 07:24 am
Wow - getting an email alert for this story was a true blast from the past! Whilst I have forgotten some of the plot, I still really enjoyed this chapter and appreciate you coming back to it!

Author's Response: LOL I had no idea people were still getting alerts for this story! It's only been posted for about 10 minutes! Glad you enjoyed it!
Name: kellbell930 reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Mar 28, 2020 06:24 pm
Please, please consider updating this pic! It is one of the best ones I've read and it torments me that its not finished (I know, a bit dramatic). But seriously, you write these characters fabulously and I would be forever indebted for an update (or two, or how it ends, or really anything). Best!
Name: evie-chan reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Jun 24, 2017 11:12 pm
Hi there, I stumbled upon your fic and read all 18 chapters in one sitting. Your plot lines, characterisation and prose are all exquisite indeed!

Good luck on all that you're working on in real life! And I hope you'll find some time to complete this fic... or at least let your readers know how it ends (I could live with that ;) )
Name: Braewyn reviewed Is this how it ends? on May 12, 2015 06:34 am
Hi! I know it's been a long time, since you last posted a new chapter but I hope you still read a comment here... I just wanted to tell you that I absolutely love this story. I have been a fan of your writing for years now and this story is my favorite fanfiction in the whole D&G universe... I hope you will one day write a new chapter.

P.S.: Sorry for my english, it's not my native language.
Name: clairejgrace reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Jan 16, 2015 05:31 pm
All the personas r so in character.Just keep going ~
Name: Lady of Clunn reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on May 19, 2013 06:09 am
I know how difficult it can be to get back to writing after such a long time, especially when RL is not cooperative.

I just wanted to thank you - this story is still very much loved; it got me into fandom, which in turn lead to writing myself. This story is still one of my all time favourites!
Name: sweet gurl reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Feb 21, 2013 08:05 pm
You have no idea how many times I've reread this story.. I can even quote it at some parts! Please please continue it, I've read the little snippet over at lj and the angle you were taking with Lucius and draco talking is perfect! Please please please keep going! :)

G

Author's Response: Oh believe me this story is on my mind so often. I can't write any more at the moment though as my fiance and I bought a house that needs a LOT of love and my computer with all my stories on is currently in storage - I haven't got any access to it :-( I have a broad outline of where I'm going with this fic and there are 3 or 4 more key events that happen in their lives before we can reach a conclusion. To reward loyal readers (and I do still reread it myself) I'm going to give you some teasers: Draco and Lucius end up in Azkaban at one point (but I'm not going to say why or how), Lucien will have company and Ginny finds a strength within herself to do something unexpected and a bit extreme.
Name: Sareer Malfoy reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Mar 20, 2012 02:55 pm
Hi! i know its been a couple years since you have done anything to this story, but i implore you, PLEASE DO NOT GIVE UP ON THIS FIC! it is truly amazing and i have enjoyed reading every word of it! i HAVE to know how it ends. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE KEEP WRITING!
Name: alison state sakkury reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Feb 06, 2012 04:44 pm
I have been waiting ages for you to continue this fan fic. It would be greatly appriciated if you could speed up the process.i like your stories a lot and i would like to read the next chapter. Thank you.

Forever & always
Alison Hale

Author's Response: Oh it's not abandoned, but I'm nearly 30 and have a lot of stuff going on that gets in the way. I'm certain I will get around to putting some stuff up eventually.
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Is it over? on Oct 14, 2011 06:09 pm
love this powerful story.. i see their have feeling for each other....
Name: msm_2011simonebb reviewed Is this how it ends? on Oct 14, 2011 05:21 pm
an interesting plot, so far. i might have read this storyy, on hpff.com, but i'm not sure...
Name: GoldenFawkes reviewed Is this how it ends? on Sep 05, 2011 12:18 am
I think I've probably said this before but when Draco tells Ginny that she'd better get dressed or he'll have Crabbe and Goyle do it, it reminds me of the scene of Elizabeth Swann in the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie when Barbossa sends the dress to her with Pintell and Ragetti.

Author's Response: Perhaps, although this chapter was written a LONG time before PotC was even a teaser trailer! lol. There are a lot of scenes like this in literature and film as it's a good way of communicating status, power and the relationship/interaction between two characters without going crazy on the dialogue. I liked this imagery because we knew it was mostly an empty threat but she didn't and it set the scene nicely for her position amongst the death eaters.
Name: lilpuffskein reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Jan 12, 2011 10:23 am
I just re-read this story, its definitely one of my absolute favorites! Considering how they started off, I think the relationship between Draco and Ginny progresses at a realistic level :) And thank you, thank you, thank you for not making Lucius an abusive father/husband who doesn't give a damn one way or another, I always thought that the Malfoy family was just as loving as the Weasleys (although they obviously don't show it in the same way)! I really hope you update soon and hope you're having a good start to the New Year :)

Author's Response: Yeah I hate the abusive Lucius characterisations - If Lucius was cruel, Draco wouldn't be such an obnoxious little shit in canon - it's more likely that Lucius is indulgent, has high expectations of his son and is probably fairly emotionally aloof but not cold. In canon we see that he takes the hit for Draco's 'failure' so clearly he's not above sacrificing himself.
Name: dragoncharmer79 reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Dec 29, 2010 08:39 am
Dear Myanceris! I have read this story numerous times and it is still one of my favorites. I cannot wait to see where you will take the characters. Hoping you begin writing again soon. ~ dragoncharmer79

Author's Response: I'm so pleased you like it. I love it too and I always find myself re-reading some chapters for the fun of it. I am trying to make progress but I'm so busy with so many different things that I rarely get time to write as often as I'd like to.
Name: openskys reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Nov 14, 2010 11:51 pm
When I first got interested in reading this I read the reviews to see if you'd replied to any, and was so happy when I found you had! The I read the actual review and was wary of the story as I don't like horribly dark fic, espesically when Draco forcibly takes Ginny against her will, but then o thought why not give it a shot?

I'm happy that I read your review beforehand and agree with that although Ginnys mindset was disgusted she did agree with everything and it was consensual and it was an interesting look into what a person in an arranged marriage might have to go through, chapter after chapter it was wonderful to see Ginny opening up to Draco ever so slowly but if it had be any fast I don't think it would have worked for the fic. Anyways this is getting rather long winded I supposed but I just wanted to say this is an amazing story and I'm thrilled that it hadsnt been abandoned like I fear when I saw the last update! This is me eagerly awaiting your next update :D

Author's Response: I'm really glad you decided to give it a shot! I am still writing (allbeit very very slowly) so I have no idea when the next chapter will be, but I am pleased that you enjoyed the character progression. It's difficult for me to really know exactly how a woman would feel in an arranged marriage situation as I am not, nor ever likely to be subject to one. However I have known a few people that are and mostly they are worried or ambivilent or worse - niave. I wanted Ginny to KNOW her 'responsibilities' and 'duties' and I wanted her to have chosen them as the lesser of two evils. Later on in the story you will eventually see that she was given a choice and opted to sign a prenup (which makes sense of the 'interview' chapter a little bit too). We saw in Deathly Hallows that Voldemort values purity of blood, even despite the actions of the pureblood in question (Neville, for example), so it is not a stretch of the imagination that when presented with a way to preserve an old and pureblooded line by tying it to Draco in a forced marriage, he would be happy with that arrangement. Particularly as he is so arrogant as to consider her no threat at all. I know it's been a good couple of years since I updated but my life really has changed and moved on and my time for writing is so very limited now that I make slow progress. And when you think I have several 'Works in progress' it is impossible to tell you when the next update will be I'm afraid. Either way, I am very glad you enjoyed the story and are still reading. :-)
Name: Mungihead reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Jun 28, 2010 08:35 pm
Fantastic chapter, as expected from such a great story! Keep on writing!
Name: jelloink reviewed Consummation on May 06, 2010 08:32 pm
I wanted to say this absolutely IS rape. I don't think there's anything wrong with writing a fic that includes a rape if that's part of the story you're trying to tell, but please don't pretend what happened in this chapter isn't rape; that diminishes the experience of real rape survivors. Ginny clearly does NOT consent to sex at any point, and just because she has an orgasm doesn't make it okay. I think it's dangerous to deny that this is rape, because it would make it so easy to dismiss a similar situation in real life.

Author's Response: I don't particularly want to leave this here at the top of the review list unresponded. I can see how you perceive this chapter as a rape-fic but that wasn't the angle I was going for, I was trying, in a slightly inept sort of way to channel the reluctance of girls in an arranged marriage. There is a lot of backstory which I was aiming to put in later about conversations between Ginny and Narcissa in which is IS offered the choice to NOT marry him, however this choice does rather lead in the torture/death at the hands of the Death eaters sort of direction. Ginny was given a CHOICE and she KNEW what that choice would entail - she signed paperwork to that effect (very much the same as a girl in an arranged marriage is given the choice of marriage or honour-killing/exile from her family, and says her vows and signs the marriage certificate - not because she wants to, but because she is EXPECTED to and the alternative is worse). So I was actually trying to go with an 'arranged marriage' sort of approach, although I agree that I have not filled in enough backstory and the reluctance elements are a lot more prevalent than the resignation - I think she was just trying her luck to be honest in the hopes that if she was snotty enough he might leave it for another time, but there are other things going on which were supposed to appear later in the story which explained why he didnt (and there will be some Draco-perspective in later chapters when I get around to writing them) - things such as other Death eaters questionning his loyalty (which you already know from published chapters is a frightening position for him to be in considering the insurrection) - they thought he was marrying her and then she'd 'disappear' so he had to PROVE that he had married her in the 'proper' way. The Orgasm has always sat uncomfortably with me, but if I left it out it read like a brutal rape!fic and I REALLY didn't want to go in that direction because as you say, this cheapens the experience of real Rape victims and the psychological damage they suffer and I would NEVER want to make light of something like that and I certainly wouldn't want to write about it because so far in my life thank christ I've never experienced this and wouldn't want to make it seem cheap. I put it in because I was trying to again channel the arranged marriage aspect andI was trying to show Draco as a husband that is trying to do his best with unfavourable circumstances. He didn't want her to hate him and he didn't want her experience to be nothing but pain and humiliation - he didn't want to be a rapist. I have also toyed with the idea that her pleasure was the result of a potion in her wine - a fertility potion that is customary among the arranged marriages of the 'upper class' to ensure that the wife won't go crying to her family saying her husband is a brute, and ensuring that the minimum amount of sex is required to conceive and heir. Cheating, yes, but it makes sense in the broader context. I'm sorry that you feel this reads like a rape scene, that was not what I was aiming for, perhaps I should have made the situation a lot clearer (although I do seem to recall a part of the chpter in which she remembers that she agreed to this and that she had signed contracts and paperwork to this effect - therefore if she agreed to it, it was consensual, however much she might not LIKE IT, agreement and enjoyment are not connected. If you agree, its consensual, regardless of how much you hate it or hate the person you are having sex with. She was emotional and frightened as I imagine a lot of girls in arranged marriages are on their wedding night - I know that when I spoke to a friend a mine just before her arranged wedding, she was ambivalent about the 'sex part' and her view was 'I'll let him get on with it and hope he doesn't take long'. She didn't expect to enjoy it and her mum had actively discouraged her to think that. As far as she was concerned, sex was about getting pregnant and giving birth to sons - a necessary discomfort. THIS was what I was trying to channel, and I thought about her when I wrote this chapter. I wanted it to show what no-one sees or hears - how unpleasant and uncomfortable 'duty' is in an arranged marriage. Of course that is not to say that ALL arranged marriages are ghastly and I am sure there are a lot of caring husbands out there that have done the right thing by their new wives, but equally there are those that are not. I'll never know how it was for my friend because her husbands' family lived in Birmingham and she moved there after the wedding. For all I know she's on her 5th child by now. I would STRONGLY recommend reading 'Daughters of Shame' by Jasvinder Sanghera for a more detailed insight in the arranged/forced marriage experience as her charity works with women that have run away from forced marriages due to abuse or just because they did not want to be intimate with a stranger.
Name: noona1 reviewed Compromise and Cogitation on Feb 06, 2010 01:30 am
AWESOME .. PLEASE DO WRITE THE NEXT CHAPTER
PRETTY PLEASE
You must login (register) to review.