Name: Claud Maudlin reviewed One on Dec 15, 2006 03:04 pm
Oh My Goodness! You think less of Ginny because she began dating at 13, and chose not to tell her six older, overprotective brothers? I've been dating since I was about that age, and I also have six older brothers, whom I refused to tell anything about my personal life for three years. When I finally told them who I was dating in eleventh grade, they flipped out and beat him up! I can completely relate to people who hide relationships from family members, more so when they're in a similar situation as myself.

(As you can probably tell, I love Ginny[and Draco], quite a lot :D)

On another note, that was a brilliant essay! Congratulations :)
Name: Glass_Mermaid reviewed One on Sep 17, 2005 08:29 pm
Ahh, you make me believe.
Name: pinkkcat reviewed One on Sep 16, 2005 04:56 am
That was a fabulous essay. It went into great detail and got me thinking about various stuff. I especially liked the Snape/Lily/James analysis, the parallel with Draco/Ginny/Harry and the Draco/Ginny analysis. I am an incurable D/G fan so I sincerely hope that neither Draco or Ginny dies in HP7 and even better they end up together (though I doubt it) but hey, hope’s the last thing to go. I do disagree that Lucius does not love his son though. A lot of people say that he treats Draco badly in COS in the shop scene. I have worked with children (and adults for that matter) and I have to frequently remind them not to do something I have already told them a gazillion times not to. I imagine Lucius would want to make sure that his son wouldn’t touch anything that would turn him into a cabbage or worse. I had to remind my sister not to touch anything in a very expensive antic store and she was at least twice Draco’s age. Why did he take his son into such a place then? Well, probably because Rowling needed us to witness that scene for further plot development…Further more Lucius paid a king’s ransom to get his kid on the school team and went to watch his son play. How’s that for a good dad? And Draco thinks the world about his father. Throughout the books, whenever he’s upset with something he always says my father will…whatever. That indicates that he feels protected and safe, that his father watches over him. But I think I’ve gone on too much about this. The thing is that it was an excellent, very well researched and well thought of essay. Very well done, congratulations.
Name: Viktoria reviewed One on Sep 15, 2005 09:49 pm
I think that if you removed all the stuff about Draco, that you'd actually have a pretty good essay. You're spending too much time/energy attempting to explain things involving Draco that are fairly untenable. Excellent points though, about the Snape/Lily/James love triangle (unrequited love is a recurring theme throughout the books). I also agree that there might have been some sort of love potion involved with Ginny and Harry, although I'm not sure WHY Hermione would have been interested in doing this...you didn't explain this aspect (why Hermione was so concerned about getting Harry and Ginny together), so your argument was weak in that respect. But still, you put a lot of effort into your essay.

Author's Response: The part about Hermione's motivations is in the *second* chapter, which is the one I wrote. I agree that IMHO that's the missing puzzle piece; if Hermione only wanted to get Harry and Ginny together out of friendship, it isn't, on reflection, enough of a reason. My theory is that Hermione knew that love was supposed to be the one weapon Harry had that Voldemort didn't, and the one thing that would defeat him. I don't think that would have been too hard for "the smartest witch of her generation" to learn about! ;) (We already know, for instance, that in PoA, Hermione figured out that Remus Lupin was a werewolf, and kept it to herself all year. So we know she's quite capable of it.) For Hermione, there would then be no question of the end justifying the means. She's not only helping her friends, she's working to defeat the most evil wizard of the age. And the chapter title "Hermione's Helping Hand" makes a lot more sense!
Name: amythis reviewed One on Sep 12, 2005 04:18 am
I got here from a link in pauraque's LJ, and I found this fascinating reading. I don't have time to comment thoroughly, as it deserves, but you've given me a lot to think about. Thank you!
Name: SophiaJoanna reviewed One on Sep 01, 2005 06:32 pm
I'd rather do this on FAP but...clearly I've always had a strong, negative, Narrow reaction to Snape and Draco. Your essay is the beginning opportunity to open my mind, which is why, ironically perhaps, I value A.R.G.H. and similar forums; I feel I've learned a good deal from them. My next step is to buy "Looking for God in Harry Potter" by John Granger, a co-religionist who has long predicted a redeemed Draco and on the Good Side Snape.
Name: creamtea reviewed One on Aug 31, 2005 09:34 pm
AS you say SophiaJoanna, there's no point in discussing Draco as in the end Draco is a case of opinion. But as to any Harry/Draco friendship - I did deliberately use the word potential, as potential is not actual; even if the conditions had been right, they might still have despised each other. I don't think Harry hated Draco or strongly disliked him at Madam Malkin's - he didn't like him, but that's it. Draco quite clearly is not averse to Harry here, despite the fact that at this stage it is canon that from appearances Harry is dirty, dishevelled, dressed in clothes that don't fit, his glasses are held together by sellotape, his hair is a mess, and he almost certainly stinks because the Dursleys had been on the run for days. A co-worker of mine (male and with a Doctorate in Literature) refused to read his kids any more HP after Book 1, as he saw Harry as a hypocrite and a bad authorial example. As far as he was concerned, one of the reasons Harry was set not to like Draco was that Draco mentions racing broom (a la racing bike) and that is one of the things that triggered Harry's dislike. He was also extremely aggrieved that the character of Draco is branded a liar in the readers assumptions, when actually he doesn't tell a single lie in the whole book, and the Trio lie in canon (that's actually the adverb: they lied). This man was really angry about it. Which brings me to the last point I wanted to address: emotional reading age. IMO a lot of the posters don't have a sufficiently high emotional reading age to engage fully with the text - they'd really be better off with Enid Blyton, where good is good and bad is bad and that's that. So for me, the Marauders thing is misinterpreted by a lot of readers (who can't see past Sirius=good).
Name: SophiaJoanna reviewed One on Aug 31, 2005 11:31 am
Generally, I enjoyed the essay. I’ve never liked the idea of Snape-Loved-Lily and consequently paid no attention to the theories. Seemed to me to be a case of shipping-on-the-brain. But your Snape theory was very well-done and made a great deal of sense. I’d never thought of Snape hating James and Sirius for their purported failure to protect Lily; it’s a brilliant idea. *** Other FAP posters (most notably HarpieLady) have noted that Snape is aggrieved at Harry because he has Lily’s eyes in James’ face (canon). *** I don’t find this hard to believe, but could you give the canon reference? I don’t remember this. There are a few points in the beginning that I disagree with and I’ll mention a minor one: *** When the taciturn and uncommunicative Krum arrives in GoF (uncommunicative because he lacks social skills) *** Probably because he lacks English speaking skills. (I rather doubt if JKR has ever actually heard a Bulgarian speak). I liked the Draco section less. I do not like Draco. At all. If I think about it, I can feel sorry for him (Lucius Malfoy as a father and LV as the family hero?) but that’s the best I can do. I don’t think these sorts of arguments are worth refuting; so much is based on predilection and opinion on both sides. *** Draco has high verbal facility – he is witty and his insults are often cruelly amusing (well they make me laugh anyway!). *** We’ll just have to disagree on this. Briefly: I don’t think he’s witty or verbally adroit; clearly we have very different senses of humor. His wit and social élan that you mention seems to me more like social backwardness on the part of the Slytherins (er, sorry). I’m not convinced that he’s good looking although if he is your reason for the importance of his looks is very interesting. The D/G evidence struck me as just possible rather than convincing. *** The ‘hate at first sight’ thing reflects Harry and Draco (although importantly it was NOT hate at first sight, only after Harry soundly rejects Draco does their enmity begin)... I view Draco and Harry as a potential Sirius and James who blew up on the launch pad. *** I can’t see how Draco & Harry just missed being best mates; it is strong dislike at first meeting on Harry's side. Draco is very full of himself and spoiled here, or perhaps wanting to appear in control of his father. He reminds Harry of Dudley. On the other hand it's a good point about Draco being everything that Snape would like to be: a Pure Blood from a rich and ancient dark arts family. I think that much of Snape’s hatred of Sirius comes from the same source: the same qualities as above, that Snape would no doubt give anything to possess - and Sirius turned his back on them! While Snape appeared to Sirius to be a twisted version of himself. BTW, I do not think that we, the readers, are set up to approve of Sirius in Snape‘s Worst Memory, just the opposite, in fact. That scene was carefully written, I believe, to show us the Marauders at their worst. Harry certainly took it that way. Another very good point about House unity and Harry and Draco needing to join forces. This is certainly a new idea for me and now that Draco has shown both us and Harry that he has a gentler side it becomes feasible. *** Admittedly I think [Harry’s] Draco-obsession was triggered by the cause of his Ginny-love (a love potion triggering, as stated in canon, infatuation and obsession)... *** I hope you‘re right, but it’s one of the points in the Love Potion Theory that I find rather doubtful, if only because I can‘t guess at the mechanism through which it would come about. Re Ginny’s fighting ability: I agree that she probably couldn’t fight her way out of the proverbial wet paper bag but can apparently fire off an impressive - you guessed it! Bat Bogey Hex! When the pressure isn’t on of course and I agree that her confrontation with Zacharias Smith on the Hogwarts Express was unlikely to be stressful, even if he was armed and not too surprised. She certainly had no trouble attacking an unarmed man with a broomstick! :) *** When I read the above passage I thought that the, “When you have seen as much of life as I have, you will not underestimate the power of obsessive love …” section was a big clue to a lot of what is going on/is revealed in HBP. *** D'Accord. I felt it was off the wall and incongruous; it definitely stuck out. You have written a good explanation, particularly IMO re Snape and Merope. *** ...Ginny did NOT know Harry when she ‘loved’ him for all those years, she only saw him as ‘rockstar’ Harry and when she is dating him it comes across as very tepid, as though she got less than she bargained for, the real Harry not being everything she had built him up to be. *** Could this be the reason for all the tell-not-show we’ve been complaining endlessly about? Plus at some point she may have remembered what a prat he’s been to her at times. Your predictions for B7 are fascinating and plausible. I certainly hope that you’re right about: *** ...I think that sending out such negative messages as ‘you have to die to be good’ (Dead Harry), or ‘once bad, you cannot hope to change and live’ (Dead Draco) are not the messages that will end this book series. Hope this makes sense and was not too long-winded as I wrote it while sleep-deprived. I’ll tackle your third essay with alacrity after I wake up. Sonia (SophiaJoanna)
Name: Sarah reviewed One on Aug 29, 2005 06:54 pm
You're right, her theories are absolutely amazing. In some points I'm a little unsure about but others are very convincing. I do have a question though, JKR alluded earlier in canon that Harry saved Pettigrew's life and so he (PP) owed him a wizard's debt. So not only would Draco be owing him (assuming the theory of H. saving D's life comes to fruition) but Peter would owe Harry his life as well. Do you think Pettigrew would influence Draco's final decision about Harry once he gets wind of that? Great essay sweetie ^_^
Name: Maelyn reviewed One on Aug 29, 2005 11:58 am
This was very well done and a great help to me in my story! Also, I am re-reading books 4, 5, and 6 so will be on the lookout for some of the things mentioned in here from those particular books. :)
Name: Jayne1955 reviewed One on Aug 29, 2005 09:59 am
I'm all for Ginny's death in Book seven, Lord knows, but I think Molly would be the ultimate hypocrite to get bent out of shape about LP, seeing as she was giggling with the girls about the times she used them herself. One thing that makes me think less of Ginny is that she started dating at 13, and her family never seems to even know she's dating the guys, with the exception of the boys knowing about Dean. Ron was living in the same school 24/7, and didn't know about Michael. This girl is sneaky about her men.
You must login (register) to review.